It's Preservation Week! This week emphasizes the importance of preserving individual, family, and community collections and highlights the critical preservation work of cultural heritage institutions (libraries, museums, archives). Preservation Week is managed by Core: Leadership, Infrastructure, Futures - a division of the American Library Association (ALA).
Below are some noteworthy projects in Xavier's Archives and Special Collections.
Our digital archives offer a range of materials such as photographs, audio and video, ephemera, and university records. Collections recently added and updated are the Xavier Herald Newspaper Collection, which dates back to 1925, and the Campus Visitors section of the Xavier University Photographs Collection. The World War II Active Duty Former Student Records collection is being digitized and added to the digital archive and currently featured by the American Catholic Historical Association.
In an effort to expand our digitization projects, Xavier is one of many schools participating in the HBCU Content Partnership with Getty Images which will provide greater access to historic HBCU photographic collections.
Three photographs from the Arthur P. Bedou Photographs Collection will be featured in the "A Picture Gallery of the Soul" Exhibition at the University of Minnesota. The exhibition will run September 13 - December 10, 2022.
A Slave Manuscript from the Charles F. Heartman Manuscripts of Slavery Collection will be on indefinite loan to the B&O Railroad Museum in Baltimore, Maryland beginning later this year. The museum was added as one of 700 sites by the National Park Service connected to enslaved people escaping to freedom. In addition, the museum received a $200,000 grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities to establish a permanent exhibit in the Mount Clare depot that expands on the stories of the enslaved freedom-seekers and the railroad's connection to the journey.
Seventeen photographs from the XULA Archival Collections will be utilized in the "Black American Studio Photograph" exhibition at the New Orleans Museum of Art (NOMA) from September 15, 2022 - January 8, 2023. Selected photographers include early 20th century New Orleanian Arthur P. Bedou who is known for photographing Booker T. Washington and George Washington Carver. Another is New Orleanian photographer turned businessman Nolan A. Marshall.
Visit the Archives in the Xavier Library or contact at archives@xula.edu, and consider preserving family and community collections!
0 Comments.