Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library News

Staff Spotlight - Nancy Hampton, Head of Collection Resources

by University Library on 2021-08-17T08:39:13-05:00 | Comments

Name: Nancy Hampton
Working at Xavier since: 2008...Wow!
Education: B.S. Howard University; MSLS Clark Atlanta University; M.F.A., Donau Universität Krems, Austria.
Current Position: Head of Collection Resources
 
 Tell us what you do.
I am responsible for the collections in the library so I purchase books and journals for the library’s circulating collections.  I also collect materials for the library’s archives and rare book collections.  Most of the materials in our collection are electronic so most of the books and journals in our library are accessible online.
 

Describe yourself in 3 words.
Imaginative, Persistent, Inquiring.

What's the best part about working in a library?
The people I encounter as they’re here to do research.  Learning about the subject areas that interest them, the places they know of, or the books they are reading.

What's your favorite book? What book character would you most like to be?
My answer to this question changes often depending upon what I am reading.  At this time my favorite book is Map Drawn By a Spy by Guillermo Cabrera Infante.  It is a true story of one man’s observations of Cuba (his home country) after the revolution.  I don’t want to be any of the “characters” in this book but I wish I could write like its author.  In terms of book characters that I would like to be, that would be Ifemelu, a fictional character in the book Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.  As characters go, she was brave and conscientious.

If you could have tea with someone dead or alive, who would it be?
Probably Gordon Parks, the photographer, because he met so many interesting people and spent time with them in order to take their pictures.  He would likely be an interesting tea time interviewee.  I would ask him about meeting and getting to know Malcolm X and also what it was like to live in Brazil for a time.

What's something people don't know about you that might surprise them?
I like working in my garden and I aspire to become a farmer.

What's one thing you wish college students knew about using a library?
I wish college students knew that librarians are here to help them get the information they need and that we are invested in having them succeed in college and beyond.
 


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Twitter
  Instagram
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...