Innovative peer-reviewed research on the behavior and experiences of Black and other populations from Black or Afrocentric perspectives.
Dr. Eboni Webb talks about her therapeutic approaches to the impact of racial trauma on children and families.
Details mental health needs and treatment interventions for Black women
In addition to the psychology-specific databases, neuroscience research can often be found in science and medical databases.
Race Relations Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
ProQuest History Vault provides access to primary source, cross-searchable, full-text/full-image documents on the most widely studied topics in 19th and 20th-century American history.
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media.
An asterisk ( Shift+8 to get *) after a series of letters tells the search to provide results that match the letters you typed along with any word ending as long as it is part of the same word. Keep in mind that this may not always work the way you expect! Applications for this could be:
| Base plus * | Sample of Possible matches |
|---|---|
| stereotyp* | stereotype, stereotyped, stereotypical |
| cultur* | culture, culturally, cultured |
Placing quotes around two or more words tells the search to provide results with those words in that exact order with only one space between them. This is especially helpful when words have meanings separately that are changed when combined or are given a more specific meaning when used in conjunction. Some examples are:
The word "or" means something very different to databases, and might be helpful when searching for similar concepts that either don't all start with the same letters or has too many irrelevant matches.
| Instead of just... | Try... |
|---|---|
| parent | parent* OR "child rearing" |
| black | black OR "african american" OR color* OR negr* |