Visual, clinically-oriented guide to the most important topics in neuroscience.
Peer-reviewed research on human neuropsychology.
Interactive brain model
Neuroscientist Kay M. Tye investigates how your brain gives rise to complex emotional states like depression, anxiety or loneliness.
In addition to the psychology-specific databases, neuroscience research can often be found in science and medical databases.
PubMed® comprises more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including drug information.
Contains over 25% of the world's science, technology, and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
National Library of Medicine's database with information on biomedicine.
An asterisk ( Shift+8 to get *) after a series of letters tells the search to provide results that match the letters you typed along with any word ending as long as it is part of the same word. Keep in mind that this may not always work the way you expect! Applications for this could be:
| Base plus * | Sample of Possible matches |
|---|---|
| neuro* | neurology, neuropsychology, neurons, neuroanatomy, neuroimaging, neurotransmitter, etc. |
| cogniti* | cognition, cognitive, cognitional |
Placing quotes around two or more words tells the search to provide results with those words in that exact order with only one space between them. This is especially helpful when words have meanings separately that are changed when combined or are given a more specific meaning when used in conjunction. Some examples are:
The word "or" means something very different to databases, and might be helpful when searching for similar concepts that either don't all start with the same letters or has too many irrelevant matches.
| Instead of just... | Try... |
|---|---|
| language | language OR verbal OR speech OR linguistic |
| concussion | concussion OR "brain injury" OR "head injury" |