Xavier Archives & Special Collections is comprised of three departments; the records of the University, Special Collections, and Rare Books. The Archives & Special Collections is open to any researcher or curious person. Students are encouraged to utilize the Archives & Special Collections for primary sources in their coursework and research.
The Archives & Special Collections' Reading Room is now fully open for researchers! We are open Monday-Friday from 9:00am - 3:30pm. Walk-ins are accepted, but appointments are preferred.
When making an appointment, the more info you give us the better. There are a lot of documents in the Archives & Special Collections, so letting us know the topic or theme you want to research will help us narrow down our search. Going through the Collection Guide to see what sort of materials we have would also be useful.
Please email archives@xula.edu to set up an appointment, and a staff member will be in touch with you shortly.
Are you interested in contributing your lived experiences to the Archives & Collections?
Documenting COVID-19 was launched to record and preserve the experiences of the Xavier community during the COVID-19 pandemic. Any materials relating to the pandemic will be accepted, such as mask selfies, vlogs about move-in day, and written entries about how you feel the University has been handling the return to campus.
Documenting the Movement was started to collect the official responses of the University and the responses of departments and organizations within the University. We also, however, wanted to create space for the Xavier community to submit materials to have their voices and stories added alongside the University's response.
Visit their homepages to learn more about both projects!