Skip to main content

Documenting COVID-19

Collecting project by the Archives and Special Collections to record and preserve COVID-19 experiences of the Xavier community.

The Project

Documenting the Xavier Community's Response to COVID-19

This a project hosted by Xavier University of Louisiana's Archives and Special Collections to record and preserve the experiences of the Xavier community during the COVID-19 pandemic. COVID-19 has had far-reaching effects on the Xavier community. The university switched to online-only courses mid-semester and will continue online instruction through the summer program. The university campus has remained closed, which has necessitated faculty, administrators, and staff to work remotely. 

We want to capture all aspects of life during this time, both the good and the bad, so that it's available to Documenting COVID-19. The COVID-19 pandemic has impacted all of us. We want to make sure your stories are heard. Submit your photos, writings, and more about your experiences to the Archives and Special Collections.future researchers and to generations to come. 

Anyone affiliated with Xavier University of Louisiana is eligible to submit materials, including students, staff, faculty, and alumni. Students who dropped out of class during the Spring 2020 semester are also encouraged to participate in this project. 

The Archives and Special Collections will collect materials that were created from March 1st, 2020 until the present. At the end of this project, an official archival collection with a finding aid will be created.

The submissions will be displayed on an Omeka site that will include a digital file of the submission, information about the item, and attribution to who submitted it.  Anyone will be able to view this site. A link to the site will be included here and shared on our social media once it goes live, so keep a lookout! 

We plan to engage in more "active" collecting once we're back on campus, so if you're a XULA organization or department that wants to partner with us to reach more people, please contact us at archives@xula.edu. 

Materials

What to Submit

We're looking for a wide variety of items! We want anything that's related to your experiences during the COVID-19 pandemic. Some examples of what you can submit are photos, written responses, videos/vlogs, audio recordings, oral histories, social media posts, emails, text messages, artwork, poetry or prose, scrapbooks, and journals or diaries. 

Bottle of cold brew from Church Alley with a note reading "stay well! we miss you!"The content can include anything from photos of long lines at grocery stores, screenshots of text messages you've sent discussing the pandemic, a vlog of your new routine for getting work done at home, a Word document discussing the steps you take before leaving home, and even memes you've made about the pandemic. It can also include photographs of your work-from-home setup, daily observations/frustrations, hopes and fears for the future, what it was like to move out of the dorms, or what it was like to transition courses to fully online. What you submit is entirely up to you! We want to document all aspects of life during COVID-19,  so submit anything you're comfortable sharing. 

Please refrain, however, from including personal health information or identifying information about the health of others. 

We're only accepting digital materials at this time, but be sure to hold onto any physical items you collect. We'll be accepting physical materials in addition to digital ones once the campus reopens.

 

Submission Process

How to Submit 

We have a Google Form set up for submissions.

You'll need to submit your name (though there is an option to submit anonymously) and email address. You will also need to let us know if you are the sole creator of the items or if you have co-creators who will also need to fill out a submission form. In addition, you'll need to check off submission agreements, acknowledgment of persons featured, a personal health information agreement, and information collection.

There is also an option to let us know your pronouns, your Xavier affiliation, and whether or not you'd like to be contacted in the future for an oral history interview conducted by the Archives and Special Collections. 

You are able to upload five (5) items at one time. There is no limit on how many times you can submit materials, so please submit

The more information you provide about an item the better! For example, if you submit a photograph of empty shelves at a grocery store, let us know when you took that photo, what city/state it was in, what grocery store it was in, and what section of the store it was in (ie cleaning supplies, dairy, produce). You can also even include what you went shopping for when that picture was taken and if you were able to purchase everything you needed. Providing context for submitted items is always welcome!

All submissions will be subject to approval by the Archives and Special Collections staff before being accepted into the collection. The Archives and Special Collections staff reserves the right to reject any submission that is deemed inappropriate, that falls outside the scope of this project, or that is not original content. 

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact us at archives@xula.edu. 

Safety

Health and Safety Guidelines 

Above all else, your health and the health of those around you are of the utmost importance. Remember to adhere to local, state, and national guidelines about social distancing and performing activities in public. 

Here are a variety of resources you can refer to: 

Xavier University of Louisiana COVID-19 Updates

Xavier University of Louisiana's Center for Health and Wellness Website

NOLA Ready Website

Louisiana Department of Health COVID-19 Website

Center for Disease Control and Prevention's COVID-19 Information

 

Forms