Reading Room - Researcher Guidelines
When using rare books, manuscripts, and university archives material, we ask that researchers comply with the following guidelines:
- Visitors are not required to wear a mask, but are encouraged to do so at their convenience.
- All materials are to be viewed in the Archives reading room. These materials do not circulate nor do they leave the premises.
- Archives staff will retrieve requested materials. Researchers are not allowed in Archives stacks.
- Eating, drinking, and vaping is prohibited in the Archives. No Exceptions.
- All materials are to be handled with care. Do not exert pressure on materials or write notes on paper or cards placed on top of any records or photographs.
- The internal order and arrangement of collections must be kept intact. If any error in arrangement is discovered, please bring it to the attention of the archivist. Do not rearrange papers yourself.
- Photocopying is provided by the archival staff at cost. Fragile items will be photocopied at the discretion of the archivist, and the archivist may decline requests for digital copies based on the physical condition of the material.
- No more than 20 photocopied/scanned pages may be requested per visit.
- Researchers are welcome to take digital images with cell phones, tablets, or cameras, so long as the flash is off.
- Laptops are welcome in the reading room and electrical outlets are available. Due to potential IT restrictions, Wi-Fi may Not be available to external researchers at the time of your visit. Please plan accordingly.
- Please observe a “one box, one folder” rule. That is, have only one box open at a time and only one file folder out of the box.
- Materials in Xavier University of Louisiana Archives and Special Collections may be subject to copyright. The user of the material assumes all responsibility for infringement of legal authorship rights.
Visitor Parking
The XULA Campus Police tend to be strict about parking on campus and require a temporary parking pass for all visitors.. There is a $5 fee for each temporary parking pass (1-day pass), applicable to all guests and non-decal holders. Departments can acquire passes in advance for their guests if they opt to cover these expenses. Vendors will have designated parking areas. Temporary parking passes will be issued exclusively by the Xavier University Police Department (XUPD), rendering any previously issued passes invalid. For comprehensive details, please visit: Temporary Parking Pass Details. Once on the site, use the "click here" option below the event code box to move to the next step. The map of the campus can be found HERE.
Guest Internet Availability via ITC
The XULA Campus takes safety seriously, especially when using the general campus Wi-Fi systems. Visitors to the XULA Library can gain access to the Wi-fi, but they will first need to visit The Information Technology Center (ITC) Helpdesk to get a secure sign-on. ITC is located on the 2nd Floor in the NCF Building across from the Library. The phone number is 504-520-7446.
Copyright & Reproductions
Researchers assume full responsibility for conforming to copyright, laws of libel, and property rights when quoting or publishing materials. Contact archives staff for publication guidelines and application when interested in reproducing or publishing content from the Archives & Special Collections.
Privacy & Use Policy
Some records in the archives may contain restrictions. Requests to view restricted materials require permission from the creator of the records. On rare occasion patron registration and usage information may be shared with other campus offices when necessary.
