XULA University Archives & Special Collections

Xavier University of Louisiana Archives & Special Collections is the University's primary resource center where you can find historic and rare items you likely won't find anywhere else in the world. We assist everyone who are looking to use our collections, such as: 

• Students who are seeking unique primary sources to enhance their research papers
• Alums wanting to relive their college memories and experiences
• Visitors looking to do scholarly research on the history of the institution
• Genealogists and local historians who are seeking biographical information on an ancestor
• Faculty who want to use our collections in the classroom and create unique research experiences for their students
• Xavier staff who need to reference old records in order to help the University's current and future operations

University Archives

The University Archives specializes in documenting the history of XULA's students, alumni, faculty, staff, departments, and administration.  This includes photographs, university publications, letters, meeting records, old policies, handbooks, student scrapbooks, and more.

Special Collections 

The Special Collections maintains historic photographs, manuscripts, newspapers, rare ephemera, catholic artifacts and relics, and numerous items relating to African-American history and black Catholics, especially in New Orleans. 

Rare Books Department

The Rare Books Department focuses on collecting rare, limited edition, and/or out-of-print books, artists' books, rare Bibles, and historic encyclopedias.