Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

XULA University Archives & Special Collections

Digital Archives & Collections

Highlighted Digital Collections

Xavier University Photographs Collection - Historic Xavier University

This portion of the The Xavier University Photographs Collection contains photographs relating directly to the history of Xavier University of Louisiana, including "Old Xavier" University, Xavier Preparatory, Xavier Students, Campus Visitors, Academics, Sports, Buildings, and Activities from the beginnings of XULA in the early 1900s. 

XULA Historic Documentary Collection - ca.1930s-1940s

The documentary videos are broken down into three programs. The first film, identified as Program 1, is, "Xavier University of New Orleans Presents: Activities of a Catholic University from Entrance to Graduation," narrated by the Reverend Edward F. Murphy S.S.J. who was serving as President of XULA during the production. The next program, Program 2, is a short film titled "Field Day" which shows young children and students competing against each other in events on the XULA campus. "Field Day" is notable as it possibly shows Saint Katharine Drexel as one of the Sisters of the Blessed Sacrament watching the festivities. Program 3 is titled "Negro Schools in American Education Series." This short, silent film, shot on the Xavier University of Louisiana campus in the late 1930s, was completed as part of the "Negro Schools in American Education Series," to, “Recognize the Outstanding Achievements of Americans of Negro Origin.

Charles F. Heartman Manuscripts of Slavery Collection

The Charles F. Heartman Manuscripts of Slavery Collection consists of over 6000 pieces dating from 1724 to 1897, and relate directly to the social, economic, civil, and legal status of enslaved Negroes and Free People of Color in Louisiana an especially in New Orleans. The manuscripts are written in French, Spanish, and English. 

Arthur P. Bedou Photographs Collection

The Arthur P. Bedou Photographs Collection contains images taken by the leading black photographer of New Orleans in the first half of the twentieth century, including the last pictures taken of Marcus Garvey in the United States and extensive documentation of Booker T. Washington's last speaking tours.

Archives Photographs Collection

The Xavier University Archives Photographs Collection consists of photographs held within the XULA Archives and deals directly with people of African descent in and around New Orleans. Here you will find notable members and institutions of the community, local persons and events, as well as fraternal organizations and local churches.