Skip to main content

XULA University Archives & Special Collections

           

Image and Manuscript Reproduction Services

The Xavier University Archives & Special Collections welcomes requests for reproduction/duplication of historic manuscripts and photographs. Presently we are not set-up to transfer video (VHS or Betamax) or audio due to copyright restrictions.

The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs making photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of the conditions is the photocopy or reproduction will not be “used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship or research.” If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of “fair use,” that user may be liable for copyright infringement.

On-site requests for photocopies from published/printed materials such as books, journals, etc. will generally be granted provided the photocopy process will not cause damage to the material. Photocopying of University Archives and Special Collections printed materials will be completed by department staff. Entire books will not be photocopied. 

Manuscripts, images, and other unique materials may not be copied by any process unless the applicant has given, by signature on the Researcher Guidelines Form, written assurance to The Department of Archives & Special Collections that no document or substantial portion of a document will be published or reproduced without the permission of the author or his/her legal representative and the Head of Collection Resources. Large (over 50 items) or especially complex duplication orders are subject to administrative approval. Approval for the duplication of entire collections is rarely granted; however, special consideration may be made for collections that consist of only a few documents. The maximum number of copies that may be requested by a patron in a six-month period from one collection is 200 pages.

Requesting a Reproduction

Requests for the reproduction of manuscripts or images must be made in writing (Reproduction Application) and must be completed in full, specifying the exact materials and passages to be copied. Requests for copies of substantial portions of a collection are rarely approved. Fees are charged for the preparation of reproductions with an additional shipping and handling charge (Fee Schedule). Reproductions are not to be made available to any other person or institution without the written permission of the Head of Collection Resources.

Archives & Special Collections will not make copies of materials that are not in our collections (for example, photocopies of materials where the originals are in other collections elsewhere).

For XULA Faculty/Staff Reproduction Request - Please Fill Out the Form Located HERE

For All Other Reproduction Requests, Please Contact Us: archives@xula.edu