Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Documenting COVID-19

Collecting project by the Archives and Special Collections to record and preserve COVID-19 experiences of the Xavier community.

About the Project

Documenting the Xavier Community's Response to COVID-19

This a project hosted by Xavier University of Louisiana's Archives and Special Collections to record and preserve the experiences of the Xavier community during the COVID-19 pandemic. COVID-19 has had far-reaching effects on the Xavier community. The university switched to online-only courses mid-semester and will continue online instruction through the summer program. The university campus has remained closed, which has necessitated faculty, administrators, and staff to work remotely. 

We want to capture all aspects of life during this time, both the good and the bad, so that it's available to Documenting COVID-19. The COVID-19 pandemic has impacted all of us. We want to make sure your stories are heard. Submit your photos, writings, and more about your experiences to the Archives and Special Collections.future researchers and to generations to come. 

Anyone affiliated with Xavier University of Louisiana is eligible to submit materials, including students, staff, faculty, and alumni. Students who dropped out of class during the Spring 2020 semester are also encouraged to participate in this project. 

The Archives and Special Collections will collect materials that were created from March 1st, 2020 until the present. At the end of this project, an official archival collection with a finding aid will be created.

The submissions will be displayed on an Omeka site that will include a digital file of the submission, information about the item, and attribution to who submitted it.  Anyone will be able to view this site. A link to the site will be included here and shared on our social media once it goes live, so keep a lookout! 

We plan to engage in more "active" collecting once we're back on campus, so if you're a XULA organization or department that wants to partner with us to reach more people, please contact us at archives@g.xula.edu. 

Jane Fiegel

Profile Photo
Vincent Barraza
Contact:
Library Archives and Special Collections
504-520-7213
Website

Vinny Barraza

Profile Photo
Vincent Barraza
Contact:
Library Archives and Special Collections
504-520-7213
Website

Acknowledgements

Xavier University of Louisiana's Archives and Special Collections Department utilized the "Documenting Your Community's Experience During COVID-19: A Resource List" started by Elizabeth James from Marshall University while creating this project and this project's LibGuide.