This book is available on the third floor and examines the purposes of incarceration and proposes alternatives to incarceration.
Peer-reviewed journal from the American Society of Criminology (note: there is a 5 year embargo on this publication)
Tools to build data tables for national, state, and local crime statistics.
Collection of criminology videos from Alexander Street (note: will need to search for Xavier on list and log in to get redirected to the channel).
In addition to your typical sociology resources, criminology research can often be found in law and government resources related to criminal justice.
Violence & Abuse Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 21,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
Open access government database that allows users to build their own customized data tables for national, state, and local crime statistics. Maintained by the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) in the U.S. Department of Justice.
US and international legal references, landmark cases and law journals, as well as news and an area dedicated to Criminal Justice topics and news.
HeinOnline is a legal research collection that features full-text searching of scholarly legal and criminal justice periodicals, and related materials.
An asterisk ( Shift+8 to get *) after a series of letters tells the search to provide results that match the letters you typed along with any word ending as long as it is part of the same word. Keep in mind that this may not always work the way you expect! Applications for this could be:
| Base plus * | Sample of Possible matches |
|---|---|
| crimin* | criminal, criminology, criminalization, criminologist, criminalized, criminate, etc. |
| polic* | police, policing, policed, policy |
Placing quotes around two or more words tells the search to provide results with those words in that exact order with only one space between them. This is especially helpful when words have meanings separately that are changed when combined or are given a more specific meaning when used in conjunction. Some examples are:
The word "or" means something very different to databases, and might be helpful when searching for similar concepts that either don't all start with the same letters or has too many irrelevant matches.
| Instead of just... | Try... |
|---|---|
| bodycam | bodycam OR "body camera" OR "wearable camera" OR "body-worn camera" OR "body-worn video" |
| police | police OR "law enforcement" OR officers |