Just need an example to follow for a specific source? Skip straight to the Citation Examples on Chicago's Style Website.
It's important to understand the context of communication in college. 
When you started college, you entered the academic community. And like all communities, academia has values that hold it together. Some of the foundational values held by the academic community include:
As a college student, you’re here to learn. You aren’t expected to be an expert in the field you’re studying yet. So when you’re asked to prepare a research project or enter into a discussion, you will be relying on sources and other authors’ ideas to help inform your thinking, develop an argument, and learn the nuances of the topic. It is important to distinguish between your original thoughts and opinions and those you’re basing on the ideas of other authors or thinkers. In any field you pursue, you will be acquiring and developing new understanding at each step.
There are different expectations for conversation within the academic community. Take this example between an informal conversation and an academic one - at the dinner table with your family or out with your friends, it is perfectly acceptable to simply state how much you love or hate the idea of universal healthcare and tell a story about a friend you know who was hurt or helped by the current system. In an academic paper or discussion, research into how different universal health care systems have played out in other countries, statistics on the effects of universal health care, or a scholarly discussion by political and economic scholars on the cost to benefit of implementing different policies would be more appropriate.
In the academic community, other’s voices and ideas are acknowledged through citation. Citing sources combines the academic values of intellectual freedom, constructive debate, and acknowledging the voices that have come before us. In the academic community, freedom to make your own evaluation and decisions about the same information is highly valued. Without that freedom, there is no room for the creativity that comes out of it or the constructive debate that comes from a variety of viewpoints. New knowledge cannot be generated without that creativity and debate, and that debate can’t happen if people engaging in it don’t know where the information is coming from.
Citations within a paper and the corresponding references at the bottom provide a visual representation of the scholarly conversation and also make it clear which parts are the words and thoughts of the author and which are the thoughts and ideas of others.
Pro Tip: You can save yourself time by starting your paper in a document already formatted for Turabian Endnote Style. Download the template to get started.
This is one of the toughest steps when it comes to Chicago Style, because Word isn't set up to do some of what Chicago requires. For example, you will need to manually format each note and bibliographic entry. You will also need to change the Endnote settings to have the Notes page before the Bibliography page.
A paper formatted for Chicago Turabian needs:
Follow the video to set your formatting settings in a Word document. If you're using endnotes, remember to choose insert endnote instead.
Source elements are what you use to create your bibliographic and endnote citations. They can be tricky to find if you aren't familiar with where they are. Check out the book and journal examples below and be sure to keep a record of the sources and their elements as you search so you can find you way back to the information. There's nothing like the frustration of remembering you found the perfect source for an argument you're making, but you don't remember where you found it.
Common source elements include:
If a reader wants to look up a source for themselves, it can be difficult to find its first use in the notes to get the full information. The Bibliography is where you put all the sources you've cited in one place so that a reader can find them easily. Every work you will refer to in your assignment needs to be in this list.
A Bibliography can also help you organize your research as you prepare for your paper. If you create it as you find sources or determine which you are going to use, then no sources will be lost, and you'll be less likely to accidentally plagiarize. And with so much information out there while you're researching, it's easy to lose track of where your sources came from, and you'll need to take extra time to track them down again. So a Bibliography can help both you and your reader find the sources again.
The Bibliography should be it's own page in your paper or project. The heading, Bibliography, should be centered at the top of the page and bolded. Two lines below the heading, your sources should be included in alphabetical order by the first word in reference (Articles such as the, a, an, etc., do not count in alphabetizing the list).
Burden-Stelly, Charisse. “W. E. B. Du Bois in the Tradition of Radical Blackness: Radicalism: Repression, and Mutual Comradeship, 1930-1960.” Socialism and Democracy 32, no. 3 (2018): 181-206, https://doi.org/10.1080/08854300.2018.1575070.
Foner, Eric. The Story of American Freedom. New York: W. W. Norton & Company, 1998.
Johnson, Sylvester A. Sylvester A. Johnson, African American Religions, 1500–2000: Colonialism, Democracy, and Freedom. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2015.
Long, Charles. “Rapporteur’s Commentary,” in Re-Cognizing W. E. B. Du Bois in the Twenty-First Century, edited by Mary Keller and Chester J. Fontenot, Jr. Macon, 215-235. GA: Mercer University Press, 2007.
*These examples are adapted for student papers from Dr. Drexler-Dreis' essay "Unchaining Freedom from Capitalism: W. E. B. Du Bois and Political Theology."
Check out the video below for an overview of citing a source in Chicago Turabian Style
In-text citations are a visual cue for readers showing which sections are your own thoughts and which belong to someone else. They also point a reader to the full citation either in your notes. Chicago Turabian allows you to choose between footnotes and endnotes for your in-text citations. Be sure to check with your professor for which they prefer. The example figures in this guide use endnotes.
In Text Citation: When Du Bois wrote Black Reconstruction, he had been undergoing what Charisse Burden-Stelly describes as “a gradual but enduring move to the left.”21
Note: 21. Charisse Burden-Stelly, “W. E. B. Du Bois in the Tradition of Radical Blackness: Radicalism: Repression, and Mutual Comradeship,1930– 1960,” Socialism and Democracy 32, no. 3 (2018):181, https://doi.org/10.1080/08854300.2018.1575070.
Shortened Note: Burden-Stelly, "W. E. B. Du Bois in the Tradition of Radical Blackness," 181.
Any time you quote, paraphrase, summarize, or use an idea from a source within the text of your project, you must give credit to the source by using an in-text citation and a note. Usually, in-text citations go at the end of a sentence after punctuation and quotations and are indicated with a superscript number. This example uses footnotes, so the number corresponds to a footnote at the bottom of each page.
Scroll down for examples.
3
When Du Bois wrote Black Reconstruction, he had been undergoing what Charisse Burden-Stelly describes as “a gradual but enduring move to the left.”21 By the 1930s, Du Bois was attentive to class conflict and increasingly engaged Marxist ideas, had adopted an internationalist perspective by connecting racialized and colonized laborers, and saw the oppressed Black masses as a historical force in political transformation.22 While Du Bois was completing the first draft of Black Reconstruction in the early 1930s, he was creating two leftist courses in political economy at Atlanta University, reading widely in Marx’s work and Marxist theory, and connecting to other radicals to comment on his work.23 As Du Bois critiques freedom in relation to the fetish of wealth, he does so within a radical tradition into which he is decidedly moving. By the 1930s, Du Bois clearly opposes the tradition of freedom that eliminates the tension between autonomy and the pursuit of success within a wage labor framework. This tradition fostered a liberal understanding of limited government and laissez-faire economics and a juridical understanding of freedom of labor as freedom of contract during the Gilded Age.24
________________________________
21. Charisse Burden-Stelly, “W. E. B. Du Bois in the Tradition of Radical Blackness: Radicalism: Repression, and Mutual Comradeship, 1930-1960.” Socialism and Democracy 32, no. 3 (2018): 181-206, https://doi.org/10.1080/08854300.2018.1575070.
22. Burden-Stelly, ““W. E. B. Du Bois in the Tradition of Radical Blackness,” 183.
23. Burden-Stelly, ““W. E. B. Du Bois in the Tradition of Radical Blackness,” 185–86.
24. Eric Foner, The Story of American Freedom (New York: W. W. Norton & Company, 1998), 113.
Burden-Stelly, Charisse. “W. E. B. Du Bois in the Tradition of Radical Blackness: Radicalism: Repression, and Mutual Comradeship, 1930-1960.” Socialism and Democracy 32, no. 3 (2018): 181-206, https://doi.org/10.1080/08854300.2018.1575070.
Foner, Eric. The Story of American Freedom. New York: W. W. Norton & Company, 1998.
Johnson, Sylvester A. Sylvester A. Johnson, African American Religions, 1500–2000: Colonialism, Democracy, and Freedom. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2015.
Long, Charles. “Rapporteur’s Commentary,” in Re-Cognizing W. E. B. Du Bois in the Twenty-First Century, edited by Mary Keller and Chester J. Fontenot, Jr. Macon, 215-235. GA: Mercer University Press, 2007.
These examples are adapted for student papers from Dr. Drexler-Dreis' essay "Unchaining Freedom from Capitalism: W. E. B. Du Bois and Political Theology."
For examples of specific sources check out the Citation Examples on Chicago's Style Website.
Chicago has an excellent list of citation examples, including what each looks like as a note, shortened note, and bibliographic entry. Take a look!