LibGuides: Getting Started with ArcGIS StoryMaps: Get Data

Data for StoryMaps

XULA Databases

64 Parishes Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
64 Parishes Encyclopedia is a project of the Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities (LEH), telling the stories of Louisiana's past and present. There are articles contain stories from different parishes in areas such as Geography, History, Literature and Sports. Students can also suscribe to the database to receive up-to-date information on the Parishes.
African American Historical Series Collection This link opens in a new window
The African American Historical Serials Collection features 173 periodicals spanning from 1816 through 1922. The periodicals in this collection include newspapers and magazines, in addition to reports and annuals from various African American organizations, including churches and educational and service institutions.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender This link opens in a new window
This database features historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archives also contain personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, among others; in addition to gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more. Includes material drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups.
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
History Reference Source offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
NAACP Papers This link opens in a new window
ProQuest and the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) have teamed up to digitize the association’s archives, bringing one of the most famous records of the civil rights movement to the online world via ProQuest History Vault. The collection is nearly two million pages of internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country. It charts the NAACP’s work and delivers a first-hand view into crucial issues: lynching, school desegregation, and discrimination in the military, the criminal justice system, employment, and housing, among others.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
A data warehouse of over 50,000 indicators accessible through a mapping and analytics platform. Users will be prompted to sign in with a single time use code via their email.
Roper iPoll This link opens in a new window
Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is a collection of poll data from 1935 to present. Contains data from U.S. and international polling firms with broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. Questions, charts, demographic crosstabs, and dataset downloads are immediately available.
Sanborn Maps This link opens in a new window
Produced for over a century, more than 660,000 Sanborn maps chart the growth and development of more than 12,000 American towns and cities. Sanborn maps are large-scale plans of a city or town, drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. They were created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring a particular property. The maps list street blocks and building numbers including numbers in use at the time the map was made and previous numbers.
XULA Digital Archives This link opens in a new window
Partial content of Xavier University of Louisiana's archival collection, added into the Catholic Research Resources Alliance portal.

General Data Resources for StoryMaps

Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Digitized collections from the Library of Congress's holdings.
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America is a US project aimed at providing public access to digital holdings in order to create a large-scale public digital library.
Louisiana Digital Library
The Louisiana Digital Library (LDL) is an online library of more than 400,000 digital items from Louisiana archives, libraries, museums, and other repositories, making unique historical treasures accessible to students, researchers, and the general public in Louisiana and across the globe.
The Data Center
The Data Center provides data, maps, and research about Southeast Louisiana.

Relevant Library Resource Guides

Getting Started with ArcGIS StoryMaps
by David Williams Last Updated Feb 25, 2025 10 views this year
History
by Vincent Barraza Last Updated Oct 30, 2024 21 views this year

Getting Started with ArcGIS StoryMaps
by David Williams Last Updated Feb 25, 2025 10 views this year