Schedule an appointment or chat with a librarian for any Mass-Communications questions!
1. Always cite your sources, even if you are claiming fair use or using material in the public domain.
2. Any form in which data can be recorded is protected by copyright law: statues, diaries, phone apps, videos, class notes. Copyright is technology-neutral. The format of a writing or recording doesn't matter, copyright protection still applies.
3. There is a difference between "I am legally allowed to use this material" and "I don't think I'll get caught".
4. When in doubt, ask!
Welcome! This guide was created to help you get started with your research. You will find resources for Mass Communications here. Different sections of this guide can help with research in:
Mass Communications research also touches on a number of disciplines. See these other subject guides for more general resources:
If you need assistance, please contact me directly at Kbarnet8@xula.edu, or “Ask a Librarian” (ask@xula.libanswers.com). We are here to assist you!
Part of Duke University Library's Digital Collections, AdView includes thousands of television commercials created or collected by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency, dated 1950s - 1980s.
The Artstor Digital Library is an image database featuring images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. It is a comprehensive image resource available for educational and scholarly use, with many rare and important collections available nowhere else.
Abstracts and full-text articles from journals in the fields of communication, mass media, speech-language pathology and audiology.
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources
Newswires provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis. This collection includes AP Financial News, AP Top News, AP WorldStream, AP U.S. Politics & Government, AP 50 State Reports, UPI Security Industry, UPI Emerging Threats, UPI Business, UPI Entertainment, UPI Sports, UPI Top News, Arabia 2000, and more. The index to the full text content in Newswires is held for a rolling 30-day archive by EBSCO.
XUsearch is the main search tool for XU Library and contains records for books, articles, and media. In most cases, XUsearch is the first place you should go when starting your research.
The world's most comprehensive catalog of library holdings, particularly from North American Libraries. Use WorldCat to search for items Northwestern Libraries does not have.
If we don't have it here, you can ILL it. Create your own account with Interlibrary Loan to borrow items outside of XU.
Is there a book, DVD, journal, or database you'd like the library to purchase? Submit a suggestion!