LibGuides: Biology: Biology databases

Biology databases

Agricola
Bibliographic records of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library.
Annual Reviews
Full-text of critical reviews written by leading scientists within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, Social Science and Economic disciplines.
PubMed
PubMed® comprises more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect, the full-text sciences periodicals database from Elsevier, contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Some articles include Physical Sciences and Engineering, Social Sciences and Humanities, Life Sciences and Health Sciences. ScienceDirect consists of over 1.4 million open acces articles and allows you to explore scientific, technical, and medical research .
Scopus
Scopus is a citation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature that can be used to determine the impact of specific authors, articles/documents, and journals. It contains records in the areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities. With comprehensive content coverage, high-quality data, and precise search and analytical tools, Scopus gives researchers, librarians, research managers, and R&D professionals the insights to drive better decisions, actions, and outcomes.
arXiv.org
A free distribution service and an open archive for scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. arXiv is a collaboratively funded, community-supported resource founded by Paul Ginsparg in 1991 and maintained and operated by Cornell University.
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses is a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research.
JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments): Basic Biology
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in a video format. These video-articles visualize experiments in life sciences laboratories. Xavier subscribes to the Basic Biology Collection which features three model organisms commonly used in life sciences research and also covers methodology to maintain them in the laboratory.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a comprehensive database providing access to academic scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, ebooks from renowned scholarly publishers, that are DRM-free, and primary sources across four collections: Global Plants, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
NBCI provides comprehensive access to biomedical and genomic information.
NCBI Bookshelf
NCBI provides access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.
Protein Data Bank (PBD)
Repository of information about the 3D structures of large biological molecules, including proteins and nucleic acids.
Rockefeller University Press
The Rockefeller University Press publishes Journal of Cell Biology (JCB), Journal of Experimental Medicine (JEM), and Journal of General Physiology (JGP) and co-publishes Life Science Alliance (LSA)
Census of Agriculture 1992/1997/2002
The Census of Agriculture is a complete count of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them. The census provides data on land in farms, land use, irrigation, crops, livestock, poultry, value of farm products sold, hired farm labor, injuries and deaths, direct sales for human consumption, production expenses, and operator characteristics. The database includes videos, latest releases, maps and mapping tools, and data query tools.