A collection of books from our catalog on general biology. Use the subject limiter to narrow your search.
A collection of books from our catalog on botany (including plant physiology, ecology, ethnobotany, etc). Use the subject limiter when you click to narrow your search.
A collection of books from our catalog on zoology (including chordates, invertebrates, and related topics). Use the subject limiter when you click to narrow your search.
A collection of books from our catalog on human anatomy (including anatomy, embryology, physiology, and related areas). Use the subject limiter when you click to narrow your search.
A selection of books from our catalog on physiology
A selection of books from our catalog on topics in microbiology (including related topics of biochemistry and food science). Use the subject limiters on the left to narrow your search.
A collection of books from our catalog on general biology. Use the subject limiter to narrow your search.
A collection of books from our catalog on botany (including plant physiology, ecology, ethnobotany, etc). Use the subject limiter when you click to narrow your search.
A collection of books from our catalog on zoology (including chordates, invertebrates, and related topics). Use the subject limiter when you click to narrow your search.
A collection of books from our catalog on human anatomy (including anatomy, embryology, physiology, and related areas). Use the subject limiter when you click to narrow your search.
A selection of books from our catalog on physiology
A selection of books from our catalog on topics in microbiology (including related topics of biochemistry and food science). Use the subject limiters on the left to narrow your search.
A collection of books from our catalog on general biology. Use the subject limiter to narrow your search.
A collection of books from our catalog on botany (including plant physiology, ecology, ethnobotany, etc). Use the subject limiter when you click to narrow your search.
A collection of books from our catalog on zoology (including chordates, invertebrates, and related topics). Use the subject limiter when you click to narrow your search.
A collection of books from our catalog on human anatomy (including anatomy, embryology, physiology, and related areas). Use the subject limiter when you click to narrow your search.
The library has books available both online (eBooks) and in print. You can search Alma for both types by entering your keywords and selecting "Book/eBook" under "Content Type" in the filter pane.
Books at the library are arranged according to the Library of Congress call number system. A "call number" is like an address for the book that tells you the location on the shelf in relation to other books. They are arranged alphabetically and numerically, and grouped by subject class and subclass. Books in the Life Sciences have call numbers starting with QH and ending with QR.
This table explains the parts of the example call number QC721 .L36 1954
| Call Number Portion | Meaning |
|---|---|
| QC 721 | Q is the general Science section of books. QC represents the subsection that focuses on topics in physics, and 721 represents the subtopic of electricity |
| .L36 | Represents words, names, or subjects; unique to each book; number read as decimal: 36 |
| 1954 | The year the book was published |
Understanding how books are arranged in a library can help you independently find a book, but if you can't find what you need ask us for help.
Subclass QH
|
QH1-278.5 |
Natural history (General) |
|
QH1-(199.5) |
General Including nature conservation, geographical distribution |
|
QH201-278.5 |
Microscopy |
|
QH301-705.5 |
Biology (General) |
|
QH359-425 |
Evolution |
|
QH426-470 |
Genetics |
|
QH471-489 |
Reproduction |
|
QH501-531 |
Life |
|
QH540-549.5 |
Ecology |
|
QH573-671 |
Cytology |
|
QH705-705.5 |
Economic biology |
Subclass QK
|
QK1-989 |
Botany |
|
QK1-474.5 |
General Including geographical distribution |
|
QK474.8-495 |
Spermatophyta. Phanerogams |
|
QK494-494.5 |
Gymnosperms |
|
QK495 |
Angiosperms |
|
QK504-(638) |
Cryptogams |
|
QK640-(707) |
Plant anatomy |
|
QK710-899 |
Plant physiology |
|
QK900-989 |
Plant ecology |
Subclass QL
|
QL1-991 |
Zoology |
|
QL1-355 |
General Including geographical distribution |
|
QL360-599.82 |
Invertebrates |
|
QL461-599.82 |
Insects |
|
QL605-739.8 |
Chordates. Vertebrates |
|
QL614-639.8 |
Fishes |
|
QL640-669.3 |
Reptiles and amphibians |
|
QL671-699 |
Birds |
|
QL700-739.8 |
Mammals |
|
QL750-795 |
Animal behavior |
|
QL791-795 |
Stories and anecdotes |
|
QL799-799.5 |
Morphology |
|
QL801-950.9 |
Anatomy |
|
QL951-991 |
Embryology |
Subclass QM
|
QM1-695 |
Human anatomy |
|
QM1-511 |
General |
|
QM531-549 |
Regional anatomy |
|
QM550-577.8 |
Human and comparative histology |
|
QM601-695 |
Human embryology |
Subclass QP
|
QP1-(981) |
Physiology |
|
QP1-345 |
General Including influence of the environment |
|
QP351-495 |
Neurophysiology and neuropsychology |
|
QP501-801 |
Animal biochemistry |
|
QP(901)-(981) |
Experimental pharmacology |
Subclass QR
|
QR1-502 QR1-74.5 QR75-99.5 QR99.6-99.8 QR100-130 QR171 QR180-189.5 QR355-502 |
Microbiology General Bacteria Cyanobacteria Microbial ecology Microorganisms in the animal body Immunology Virology |