This page provides links to major databases subscribed to by the University Library and free databases to find journal articles
Theology Subscription Databases
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerialsThis link opens in a new windowFull-text of journal articles, book reviews and essays in the fields of religion from major religion and theology journals.
Catholic News ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowThe Catholic News Archive is a project of the Catholic Research Resources Alliance (CRRA), a non-profit alliance of archives and libraries collaborating in support of the mission to provide enduring global access to Catholic research resources. The archive has thousands of newspaper pages, from different cities, over multiple years, and is fully text searchable. The content can be viewed in the context of the newspapers' editorials, pictures, and advertisements.
Catholic Portal, TheThis link opens in a new windowThe Catholic Portal provides access to and discovery of rare, unique, and uncommon Catholic scholarly resources via robust search and display tools. By electronically bringing together resources in many formats from many collections, the Portal enables easy, effective, and global discovery of Catholic research resources. Learn more about the Portal, including our Subject Guides for searching the Portal and our twelve primary collecting themes.
Philosopher's IndexThis link opens in a new windowThe Philosopher’s Index database covers scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy, which also includes contributions to anthologies and book reviews.
Religion (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowReligion Database provides periodicals and other sources for diverse religious studies, covering formal theological studies . This database contains many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations.
Religion & Philosophy CollectionThis link opens in a new windowReligion & Philosophy Collection provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Academic Search UltimateThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a comprehensive database providing access to academic scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, ebooks from renowned scholarly publishers, that are DRM-free, and primary sources across four collections: Global Plants, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa.
ARTSTORThis link opens in a new windowThe Artstor Digital Library is an image database featuring images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. It is a comprehensive image resource available for educational and scholarly use, with many rare and important collections available nowhere else.
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowProQuest Dissertations & Theses is a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research.
Free/Open Databasese
Jesuit Online BibliographyThe Jesuit Online Bibliography is a free, collaborative, multilingual, and fully searchable database of bibliographic records for scholarship in Jesuit Studies produced in the 21st century. In the bibliographic tradition of the Society of Jesus, this database provides the records, abstracts, subject categories, and direct links to books, chapters, articles, reviews, dissertations, and others materials related to the study of Jesuit history, spirituality, educational heritage, and pedagogy.
Biblical Studies on the WebThe Biblical Studies on the WEB offers scholars a useful gateway to the exegesis on the WEB since 1998.
With the publication of hightly established biblical journals and differents tools from search engines to biblical resources lists, it is your way to get access to exegesis today.
Bibliography of the Arabic BibleThis research tool seeks to provide a comprehensive and fully annotated bibliography of text editions and research in the field of Arabic Bible. Historical translations of the Bible into Arabic comprise countless manuscripts and fragments from the medieval period found in monasteries throughout the Middle East and libraries across the globe, as well as early and recent prints produced in Europe and in Arabic-speaking lands.
Center for Hellenic StudiesThe CHS is dedicated to the reassertion of the humanism of the ancient world, centering on Hellenic civilization in its widest sense. Today, it stands as a premier research facility, cultivating a repository of materials that attracts scholars, researchers, and students from all over the world.
Christian Classics Ethereal LibraryThe Christian Classics Ethereal Library is a digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books selected for edification and education.
Corpus ThomisticumThe Corpus Thomisticum project aims to provide scholars with a set of instruments of research on Thomas Aquinas, freely available via Internet.
The Database of Religious HistoryThe DRH is designed to serve as a centralized clearinghouse for scholarly knowledge of the historical record, bringing together a core of quantified, standardized data with qualitative comments, references to crucial resources, and links to on-line text and image databases.
GlobethicsGlobethics.net is a global network of teachers and institutions with the vision to embed ethics in higher education. We strive for a world in which people, and especially leaders are educated in, informed by and act according to ethical values and thus contribute to building sustainable, just and peaceful societies.
Institute for the Study of the Ancient WorldISAW was founded to support research in the ancient world. Publication—in print, online, and in person—is one of the key ways we share our research methodologies and findings with both other scholars and the general public. We aim for quality and long-term accessibility in all our research outputs, regardless of medium, while embracing collaboration and both traditional and new forms of review and assessment.
Internet Sacred Text ArchiveThis site is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics. Texts are presented in English translation and, where possible, in the original language.
Open Library of HumanitiesThe OLH publishing platform supports academic journals from across the humanities disciplines, as well as hosting its own multidisciplinary journal. Launched as an international network of scholars, librarians, programmers and publishers in January 2013, the OLH has received two substantial grants from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation to date, and has built a sustainable business model with its partner libraries.
