The University Library provides access to research materials and tools for the study of music performance, teaching music, and music scholarship. We have a collection of music scores available for student use, as well as a variety of journals, books, and multimedia to support your musical studies. In addition to our holdings, the library is a member of LOUIS and students at XULA can borrow materials from our partner institutions. If you have questions about these resources, need help finding something, or think there is something we should have that we do not, please don't hesitate to reach out to us and we will be more than happy to assist you!
The Lomax Digital Archive provides free access to audio/visual collections compiled across seven decades by folklorist Alan Lomax (1915–2002) and his father John A. Lomax (1867–1948). The entirety of Alan’s photographs and open-reel tape recordings—made between 1946 and 1991—are available here, as well as transcriptions of his 1940s radio programs, and a selection of clips from his film and video-work of the 1970s and 1980s.
New Music USA believes that music can be a change agent for a more just and balanced world. For over ten years New Music USA has offered support and opportunities to individual artists and organizations undertaking imaginative and transformative work in music by building diverse and inclusive programs and resources that reflect the music community the organization serves.
This repository of materials covers a range of African American musical idioms and cultural expressions from the post-World War II era. It includes popular, religious, and classical music, with genres ranging from blues and gospel to R&B and contemporary hip-hop. A subset of the collection is available online.
The Music Division of the Performing Arts Reading Room at the Library of Congress hosts a large online digital collection of music-related American History artifacts. This collection includes digitized scores, musical performances, images,