English - LibGuides at Xavier University of Louisiana

Guides
Databases

No guides have been assigned to this subject.

Showing 24 Databases

Best Bets!

Best Bet

Gale Literature is an integrated research experience which brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. The database offers uniquely rich literary content, dependable metadata, and intuitive subject indexing - all enriched by features and design that breathes new life into the study of literature. GL includes full text literary commentary and criticism, author biographies, work overviews, and reviews.

Best Bet

Literature & Language (ProQuest)

Literary texts, including many hard-to-find or out-of-print works, as well as important copyrighted works that may not be available in electronic format elsewhere.

Best Bet

MLA International Bibliography

The MLA International Bibliography indexes scholarship on language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. It includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources.

Additional Databases

Featured

Academic Search Ultimate

Comprehensive, multidisciplinary database where you can find credible, peer-reviewed articles and resources across a vast range of academic subjects.

Academic Video Online

Academic Video Online is a comprehensive video subscription which delivers more than 62,000 titles, spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. It is curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.).

Biography in Context

Biographical entries covering more than 525,000 people. Useful to every course of study when information on an individual is needed.

Book Collection: Nonfiction

Full-text electronic books covering the disciplines art, biology, business, chemistry, communication, computer science, education, English, engineering, history, mathematics, music, pharmacy, philosophy, physics, political science, psychology, sociology and theology.

eBook Central (Ebrary)

ProQuest Ebook Central contains ebooks from various publishers across a wide range of academic disciplines. Books can be read online in your web browser or can be checked out and downloaded for offline reading. Checking out and downloading a full book requires creating a ProQuest account and installing Adobe Digital Editions. A limited number of pages per book can be printed or downloaded in PDF form.

eBooks (EBSCOhost eBook Collection)

Full-text electronic books covering a broad range of academic disciplines. Books can be read online in your web browser or can be checked out and downloaded for offline reading. Checking out and downloading a book requires creating a My EBSCOhost account and installing Adobe Digital Editions.

Films on Demand - Master Academic Collection

Films On Demand is a streaming video platform that provides access to documentaries, award-winning educational films, independent films, and helpful instructional videos. All videos are iPad, PC, Mac, Android, mobile, and interactive whiteboard friendly.

Gale eBooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) is an online library of reference titles for multi-disciplinary research, including texts related to American and world history, biography, health, arts, business, travel, religion, and multicultural studies.

Featured

JSTOR

JSTOR is a comprehensive database providing access to academic scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, ebooks from renowned scholarly publishers, that are DRM-free, and primary sources across four collections: Global Plants, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa.

JSTOR's World Heritage Site: Africa

JSTOR'S World Heritage Sites: Africa is a versatile collection of more than 86,000 objects of visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage and rock art sites. The materials in in the collection is suitable for research on African studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, Diaspora studies, folklore and literature, geography, and history.

Kanopy Streaming Media

Kanopy provides access to a broad selection of streaming video titles for educational purposes, including documentaries, independent and foreign films, classics, and feature films. Kanopy's collection includes films from content providers such as New Day Films, PBS, the Criterion Channel, Kino Lorber, and Documentary Educational Resources.

Literary Reference Source eBook Collection

Literary Reference Source eBook Collection offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of literary-related subjects. Selections include literary criticism, study guides, and classics such as Emma, Dracula and Frankenstein.

Literary Reference Source Plus

Literary Reference Source (LRS Plus) is a robust full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, and literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Provides users with a broad spectrum of information on authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames. Includes synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals and author biographies, plus full-text classic novels, short stories and poems.

Literature Criticism Online

Contains searchable full text of over 350,000 works of English-language literature, including 343,000 works of poetry, 5000 dramatic works, and 2000 prose works. Includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Shakespearean Criticism, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, and Children's Literature Review.

Literature Resource Center

Gale Literature Resource Center contains full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines which are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies, to provide information and critical analysis on authors, their works, and literary movements. It covers more than 124,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors.

MAS Reference eBook Collection

This ebook reference collection offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of general reference subjects for high school students. Topics include biography, history, careers, language arts, literature, government, health, math, science, current events, and social-emotional health.

MasterFILE Reference eBook Collection

This ebook reference collection offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of general reference subjects. Topics include biography, history, careers, cooking, literature, genealogy, health, parenting, personal finance, politics, architecture, science, current events, social-emotional health, sports, and travel.

Oxford English Dictionary

The Oxford African American Studies Center provides articles by top scholars, images, primary sources and maps.

Project MUSE

Project Muse provides access to scholarly e-books and journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Featured

ProQuest (All Databases)

Provides access to tens of thousands of journals, magazines, newspapers, dissertations, and other publications is available through the ProQuest collection of several databases.

Research Library (ProQuest)

Use this database for general or multidisciplinary topics. It covers a broad range of academic subjects from arts, business, education, health, humanities, law, military, psychology, science & technology, to social sciences. Includes full text articles and ebooks.

Showing 1 Blog Posts

Apr 28, 2020

New Publications by Xavier Faculty

Search

Search the full text of this site. Results will link to pages containing your terms; results from subject page searches are automatically filtered by that subject.

English Experts

Librarian

Corrine Syster

she, her, hers

Email Me

Contact:

Working Remotely
csyster@xula.edu

cell:717-525-1035