Speech Pathology

Provides immediate help for anyone preparing a biomedical paper by giving specific advice on organizing the components of the paper, effective writing techniques, writing an effective results sections, documentation issues, sentence structure and much more. The new edition includes new examples from the current literature including many involving molecular biology, expanded exercises at the end of the book, revised explanations on linking key terms, transition clauses, uses of subheads, and emphases. If you plan to do any medical writing, read this book first and get an immediate advantage.

This book presents a guide for research methodology and scientific writing covering various elements such as finding research problems, writing research proposals, obtaining funds for research, selecting research designs, searching the literature and review, collection of data and analysis, preparation of thesis, writing research papers for journals, citation and listing of references, preparation of visual materials, oral and poster presentation in conferences, and ethical issues in research . Besides introducing library and its various features in a lucid style, the latest on the use of information technology in retrieving and managing information through various means are also discussed in this book. The book is useful for students, young researchers, and professionals.

Publishing Your Medical Research is the second edition of the award-winning book that provides practical information on how to write a publishable paper. This edition includes additional details to help medical researchers succeed in the competitive "publish or perish" world. Using a direct and highly informative style, it does more than help you write a paper; it presents the technical information, invaluable modern advice, and practical tips you need to get your paper accepted for publication. A singular source for the beginning and experienced researcher alike, Publishing Your Medical Research is a must for any physician, fellow, resident, medical scientist, graduate student, or biostatistician seeking to be published.

For most biomedical researchers and academics, preparing conference abstracts and posters is an important part of professional life. With good preparation and practice, all scientists can produce abstracts that act as effective ambassadors for their research. A well designed poster can help you to enhance your professional reputation in addition to communicating your data. This book aims to help you achieve these objectives. This book is designed for you to use when you are actually preparing a conference abstract or poster. It is intended to answer the most frequent questions, and to help you avoid the most common problems and pitfalls. Just dip into any chapter and you will find a range of tips relevant to the abstract or poster you are preparing right now. As a researcher and academic, you need to be able to disseminate and communicate your research work and findings. While many will view writing for peer-reviewed journals as the pinnacle of the academic communication hierarchy, being able to write and present conference abstracts and posters is also extremely important. Taking your work to conferences allows you to meet experts from all around the world, to exchange ideas in person and to network with potential employers and collaborators.

Mastering the art of communicating scientific information is more critical than ever for a successful career in science and technology. Scientists today must be able to effectively convey sophisticated information to a broad audience that may include students, colleagues around the world, regulatory bodies, granting agencies, legislators, and the lay public. In this engaging and lively book, the author provides a step-by-step guide to the complete process of making a scientific presentation from preparation to delivery. It offers numerous examples highlighting what to follow and what to avoid. This revised edition covers the effective use of PowerPoint and other computer-based presentation programs. It also includes a handy checklist, new illustrations, and tips on handling an audience in a foreign country."

Designing Science Presentations guides researchers and graduate students of virtually any discipline in the creation of compelling science communication. Most scientists never receive formal training in the creation, delivery, and evaluation of such material, yet it is essential for publishing in high-quality journals, soliciting funding, attracting lab personnel, and advancing a career. This clear, readable volume fills that gap and provides visually intensive guidance at every step--from the construction of original figures to the presentation and delivery of those figures in papers, slideshows, posters, and websites. It provides pragmatic advice on the preparation and delivery of exceptional scientific presentations; demonstrates hundreds of visually striking presentation techniques, giving readers inspiration for creating their own; and is structured so that readers can easily find answers to particular questions.

For many researchers, the need to present relevant and engaging material in the most effective way in an unfamiliar setting presents a potential barrier to their success as professionals. This handy guide tackles the obstacles to effective and successful presentations, considering the range of material which might be presented, the occasions which suit different types of material and the skills needed to present research in a way that is engaging and persuasive. This book addresses questions such as: Why should I give a paper and where might I give a paper? How does the conference system works? How do I prepare an abstract/outline/synopsis? How do I chose my material and prepare it for a conference presentation? How can I prepare effective conference aids? How can I overcome my nerves? How can I prepare and present effective posters for poster presentations? The Success in Research series provides short, authoritative and accessible guides on key areas of professional and research development. Avoiding jargon and cutting to the chase of what you really need to know, these practical and supportive books cover a range of areas from presenting research to achieving impact, and from publishing journal articles to developing proposals. They are essential reading for any student or researcher interested in developing their skills and broadening their professional and methodological knowledge in an academic context.

This book provides detailed practical guidance on all aspects of pre­senting scientific information in the form of posters. It is intended to help scientists to gain poster presentational skills in a man­ ner that enables adoption of an individualistic style of presenting infor­mation in a credible fashion. The book has relevance internationally and is primarily targeted at research workers, including postgraduate students and all scientific professionals who are required to present visual commu­nication of scientific information.