LibGuides: Genetic Counseling: Find Articles

Biomedical Literature Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed® comprises more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase is a comprehensive biomedical literature resource for drug, disease and medical device R&D and pharmacovigilance with comprehensive content including articles, conference abstracts, in press articles and all of Medline.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a citation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature that can be used to determine the impact of specific authors, articles/documents, and journals. It contains records in the areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities. With comprehensive content coverage, high-quality data, and precise search and analytical tools, Scopus gives researchers, librarians, research managers, and R&D professionals the insights to drive better decisions, actions, and outcomes.

NCBI Resources

NCBI Genetics and Medicine
Includes a list of various databases and tools relevant to clinical genetics, such MedGen, GeneReviews, Clinvar, GTR, and more.
NCBI How To: Find genes associated with a phenotype or disease
NCBI How To: Find human variations associated with a phenotype or disease (clinical association)

Databases with Health Content

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The CINAHL Database provides abstracts, full-text articles, full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and continuing education modules from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. Nurses, allied health professionals, researchers, nurse educators and students depend on the CINAHL Database to research their subject areas from this authoritative index of nursing and allied health journals. CINAHL Subject Headings help users effectively search and retrieve information and follow the structure of the Medical Subject headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine. These Subject Headings help researchers find new concepts, including COVID-19, social distancing and vaping as well as local terminology.
Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Alt Healthwatch is a full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers the latest information about the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Nursing/Academic Edition is a trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
Health & Medicine (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range healthcare and biomedical subject areas. Including medical reference ebooks, instructional videos, dissertations, working papers, and evidence-based articles and clinical trial records.

Basic Sciences Databases

JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments): Basic Biology This link opens in a new window
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in a video format. These video-articles visualize experiments in life sciences laboratories. Xavier subscribes to the Basic Biology Collection which features three model organisms commonly used in life sciences research and also covers methodology to maintain them in the laboratory.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
**You must set up an account before your first use.**
SciFinder-n covers the literature of chemistry including journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations, technical reports, government documents, etc. It allows users to search by research topic, author name, CA abstract number, patent number, chemical structure, molecular formula, chemical name, CAS registry number, functional groups in reactions, and bibliographic information, etc.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics database provides researchers, educators, and students high quality data for chemical compounds and physical particles. The Handbook covers 390 chemistry, physics, and related subjects organized in easy-to-find, well-organized tables. Every year, new reported data and new scientific areas are added, making the Handbook the largest comprehensive physical science data source available anywhere.

Web Resources

NSGC Genetic Counseling Literature Repository
The NSGC GCLR is a resource to identify articles that: 1) document the value and quality of genetic counseling services and 2) describe clinical and research outcomes relevant to genetic counseling patients. This resource includes peer-reviewed scientific literature and select editorials identified via a structured search protocol, conducted monthly by members of the RQO Committee.
GenEthx: Genetics and Ethics Database
This collection contains 45,536 bibliographic citations for resources that cover ethical issues related to human genetics including research, biobanks, etc. It is a database created by the staff at the Georgetown University Bioethics Research Library.