LibGuides: Physician Assistant: Clinical Practice

Clinical Information Resources

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine is an online medical resource that contains textbooks, videos, drug information, and self-assessment tools. Users must create and be signed into their free profile to complete cases and answer review questions.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase is a comprehensive biomedical literature resource for drug, disease and medical device R&D and pharmacovigilance with comprehensive content including articles, conference abstracts, in press articles and all of Medline.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed® comprises more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a citation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature that can be used to determine the impact of specific authors, articles/documents, and journals. It contains records in the areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities. With comprehensive content coverage, high-quality data, and precise search and analytical tools, Scopus gives researchers, librarians, research managers, and R&D professionals the insights to drive better decisions, actions, and outcomes.

Clinical Decision Support Tools

Use clinical decision support tools to see summaries and analyses of the best available evidence for use at the point-of-care. They contain information on diagnosis, interventions, prognosis, etc. for healthcare providers. Some also contain patient education handouts and resources.

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Elsevier’s ClinicalKey gives you access to quick answers at the point of care alongside trusted, comprehensive medical evidence. It includes clinical overviews, full-text books and journals, drug information, procedure videos, clinical calculators, patient education handouts, practice guidelines, clinical trials, and MEDLINE® citations and abstracts.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical decision support resource.
VisualDx This link opens in a new window
VisualDx aids in the identification of dermatologic, infectious, genetic, metabolic, nutritional and occupational diseases, benign and malignant growths, drug-induced conditions, and other injuries. It allows physicians to search by diagnosis, build a patient-specific differential, or look up drug-induced adverse reactions by medication.