Library News

Part-Time Specialist positions available in the Library

The Library is currently seeking to fill a number of paraprofessional positions in various departments. The job descriptions are listed below.

To qualify for one of the following positions, students must meet the following criteria:

• Enrolled at Xavier either part-time or full-time;
• Have Junior, Senior, or Graduate status; 
• Be available to work between the hours of 7:30 AM to 6:00 PM, Monday - Friday;
• Be able to commit to 20 hours per week.

Qualifications we are looking for:

• Customer service skills and high energy level 
• Strong attention to detail and ability to follow directions
• Performs independently and able to remain flexible when changes are needed
• Effective communication, interpersonal, and organizational skill
• Experience with Microsoft Office and Google Suite
• An expressed interest in History, Archives, Libraries, and/or Historic Collections
• An understanding of project & process management methods or willingness to learn

To apply for one of the positions:

• Send a cover letter and resume to the hiring librarian;
• The cover letter should indicate your interest in a specific position and share how your previous work experience and/or university studies prepares you for success in the position;
• Selected candidates will be expected to interview with the assigned department.

===========================================================================

 Position: Technology Support Student Specialist
Hiring Librarian: Kayla Siddell, Head of Research & Technology (ksiddell@xula.edu)

Job Summary: To support the work of the System and Technology Librarian in providing high-quality, robust systems that facilitate search, discovery and delivery of library services and resources to the entire XULA campus. The position works as part of Research and Technology Deportment of library that provides services to XULA campus. The position is tasked with maintenance of current electronic resources and support current systems to deliver new services to better support a research focused multi-disciplined environment.

Essential Duty:

• Learning and understanding the ILS platforms and systems
• Verifying the accessibility for the new and existing electronic resources, report and removing the expired contents
• Generating system reports and analyzing the usages of contents
• Experience with web design or maintenance is a plus

Hardware and Software Used: PC, Scanner, Microsoft Office

Qualifications: Work/Study student must be a Xavier student currently enrolled, eligible for work/study under the federal guidelines

Knowledge & Skills Required:

• Familiarity with PCs & Scanner
• Attention to Detail
• Ability to maintain regular attendance and schedule
• Ability and willingness to learn new stuff

Physical Requirements: Ability to sit a computer terminal for extended period to time

===========================================================================

Position: Institutional Repository Specialist
Hiring Librarian: Kayla Siddell, Head of Research & Technology (ksiddell@xula.edu)

Job Summary: To support the work related to Xavier’s Institutional Repository (XULA DigitalCommons), under the direction of the Head of Research and Development Librarian and Institutional Repository Librarian.

XULA Digital Commons is a digital platform for the scholarly output of faculty, the students, and staff at Xavier University of Louisiana. This site provides discovery and access to their work. XULA Digital Commons allows researchers and other interested readers anywhere in the world to learn about and keep up to date with Xavier University of Louisiana scholarship. Administered by the Xavier University of Louisiana Library, XULA Digital Commons contains materials selected by participating departments, schools, centers, and institutes at Xavier University of Louisiana.

Essential Duty: Digitizing creative and scholarly works of the university including faculty and student publications and presentations, books, theses & dissertations, research,music, art, and oral histories. Students will learn management and input of digital artifacts and metadata.

===========================================================================

Position: Institutional Archives & Special Collections Specialist
Hiring Librarian: Vincent Barraza, Digital Preservation Librarian (vbarraza@xula.edu)

Job Summary: Supports the work of the Digital Preservation Librarian in managing, preserving, and making accessible the library’s rare and archival collections. This individual performs both technical and public services work within the department. The Archives & Special Collections Specialist provides courteous, efficient service primarily in support of the department by paging, shelving, and serving on the reference desk.

Essential Duties may also include:

• Assisting with arrangement and description (“processing”) of manuscript collections, including: sorting; arrangement of records within folders and folders within collections; describing collection contents; checking collections against descriptive listings for accuracy; and creation of accurate collection listings.
• Assisting visitors at the Special Collections & Archives Desk, in person, via chat or phone, according to policies & procedures; paging materials for visitors & staff; monitor collection security in the Reading Room; and, recording appropriate usage statistics.
• Technical services tasks include determining dates for folder material in finding aids and re-boxing or re-adding materials to folders’ entering collection information into the Archives Digital Asset Management System; assist with digitization projects by assessing, scanning, and storing digitally created records; entering metadata records into the Digital Archive database.