Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College of Pharmacy

Find Resources in the Library

QuickSearch for Books, Book Chapters, Journal Articles, Media, etc.

Understanding Resources

What information resources are appropriate for the different stages of your research? The timeline above gives you an overview with suggestions on where to locate them. (Click on the image for the full size view.)

What are Scholarly ArticlesAcademic Articles, or Peer-reviewed Articles? Do they mean the same thing? This 3-minute video by NCSU Libraries provides a good explanation of the peer review process.

Searching

A good search strategy ensures that you find what is relevant for your research efficiently. Follow these tips when you start your research (click on the image for full size view).

The Library subscribes to different databases relevant to the learning and research needs of the Xavier Community.

Some databases are discipline-specific and others are multidisciplinary. Some are full-text databases providing you with the full-text PDF of the article, while others provides abstracts to articles published in journals.

Check out the full list of Library-subscribed databases here.

BrowZine allows you to browse, read, and manage articles from journals subscribed by the Library on your desktop, tablet or mobile phone.

Use the search box below to start searching for a journal. Go to the BrowZine Guide for more info and instructions on how to download the BrowZine app on your mobile devices.

Search Xavier's e-journals via BrowZine

 

DOI or PMID Look Up

If you know the DOI or the PMID of an article, use the search box to go directly to the article.

Lookup a journal article by DOI or PMID

Plagiarism & Citing Sources

Of course American Playwright Mizner was only joking. Acknowledging the sources of your ideas and citing the works of other writers are actually important aspects of academic writing. It helps you to

why cite

You should provide citations when:

  1. You use an idea that has already been expressed by someone else (even ideas transmitted informally).
  2. You refer to the work of another person.
  3. You quote the work of someone else.

You do not need to cite:

  1. When discussing your own experiences, observations, or reactions.
  2. When compiling the results of original research, experiments, etc.
  3. Facts or information that are widely known, or common knowledge.

What is Plagiarism?

The theft of ideas (such as the plots of narrative or dramatic works) or of written passages or works, where these are passed off as one's own work without acknowledgement of their true origin; or a piece of writing thus stolen. Plagiarism is not always easily separable from imitation, adaptation, or pastiche , but is usually distinguished by its dishonest intention.

"plagiarism" The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms. 2008. Oxford Reference Online. Oxford University Press

Plagiarism FAQ

Every case is different and will be judged differently. However, pleading ignorance or claiming that the plagiarism is accidental will not be enough. It is always a good idea to include full citation details when taking notes to help avoid accidental plagiarism.

That's too bad, they got there first! You will still have to cite the published source.

According to the American Psychological Association (2010), self-plagiarism refers to "the practice of presenting one's own previously published work as though it were new" (pg. 170). While it may sound oxymoronic to steal from yourself, you are committing self-plagiarism if you reuse your own work without proper citation. Refer to Dellavalle's (2009) article for more details on the topic.