Skip to main content

Sisters of the Blessed Sacrament: Digital Collection

Here you will find information on the history of the Sisters of the Blessed Sacrament

Collection Description

The Xavier University Photographs Collection consists of photographs held within the XULA Archives and deals directly with Students, Faculty, Alumni, and/or History of Xavier University of Louisiana.

In this section you will find links to the Digital Collection holding Photographs of the Sisters of the Blessed Sacrament 

Archives Contact Information

Xavier Archives and Special Collections

Library Resource Center, Room 319

Hours of Operation:

Mon-Fri  8:00AM to 5:00PM

(504) 520-7655 or Email: Archives@xula.edu

Collection Standards

Overview

The Xavier University Library Collections Digitization Initiative focuses on building digital collections of enduring value drawn from materials in the Archives and Special Collections. Collections in process of digitization are chosen based on historical and cultural value, as well as conditional necessity. 

Conservation

Materials to be digitized receive conservation review prior to digitization. All manuscripts are stabilized for digitization, rehoused by Xavier University Archival Standards, and all items are ssured long-term preservation within Xavier University Archives and Special Collections.

Access and Location

Digital collections are available online through Xavier University Library Resource Center Digital Collections. Physical items are located in the Xavier Library Archives and Special Collections, Library Resource Center - Room 319

Portrait of Sister Redempta, S.B.S.

Sister Wilfred (Brenda Torrance), S.B.S., Sister Kennon, S.B.S., Sister Pat House, S.B.S., Sister Joan Rogers, S.B.S.(at Piano)

Mother Agatha Ryan, S.B.S. (2nd from Right), Sister Mary Augusta, (Far Left), Sister William (2nd from Left), and Sister Mary Helene, Dean of Xavier University (Right), attending the Baccalaureate Mass

Collection Guide

Using this Collection Guide:

Find the Box and/or Folder you wish to explore and click on the available link.

 

If you can help identify any of the unknown/unidentified images, please contact us at Archives@xula.edu.

Image Identifiers (ie. 001.01.A.1.001) are Organized by: Box, Series, Sub-Series, Folder, Item. 

Click on any of the Folders below to see items in the Collection.

Box I 
Series 1 - Saint Katharine Drexel
        Folder 1 - Saint Katharine Drexel - Foundress of Xavier University of Louisiana     
 
Series 2 - Sisters of the Blessed Sacrament
     Subseries A: Individuals
        Folder 2 - Mother M. Agatha RyanPresident of Xavier University of Louisiana (1932-1955)
        Folder 4 - Agnes Marie, Sister - Registrar's Office
        Folder 5 - Alice Patrick McCabe, Sister - Business Office
        Folder 7 - Mother Mary of the AssumptionMother Superior of Xavier University Convent
        Folder 9 - Austin, Sister Rita - Holy Family Sister (S.S.F.)
        Folder 10 - Bates, Sister Marie De Montfort - Registrar's Office & Business Dept.
        Folder 11 - Bauer, Sister Joanne - Chemistry Dept. 
        Folder 12 - Beazley, Sister Mary Theodore - Education Dept.
        Folder 13 - Belanger, Sister M. Augusta - French & Spanish Dept.
        Folder 14 - Blum, Sister Doris - Music Dept. & Education Dept.
        Folder 16 - Bryant, Sister Nathalee - Assistant Librarian
        Folder 17 - Buttell, Sister Mary Frances - University Dean
        Folder 19 - Charlotte, Sister Mary - Convent Support 
        Folder 20 - Chiara, Sister - Holy Family Sister (S.S.F.)
        Folder 22 - Collins, Sister Maria Amata - Education Dept.
        Folder 23 - Collins, Sister Elizabeth - Education Dept.
        Folder 26 - Creely, Sister Mary Augusta - (See Also: Belanger, Sister Augusta)
        Folder 27 - Cyprian, Sister M.  - Chemistry Dept.
        Folder 28 - Dalton, Sister Mary Stanislaus - Library Director
        Folder 29 - Dempsey, Sister Maris Petra - Elementary Education Dept.
        Folder 32 - Drawe, Sister Veronica - University Dean of the College of Arts & Sciences, and Chemistry Dept.
        Folder 33 - Duffy, Sister Consuela Marie - Theology Dept. 
        Folder 34 - Edelen, Sister Mary Loyola - Education Dept. 
        Folder 36 - Emmanuella, Sister M. - Business Administration Dept.
        Folder 38 - Eugenia, Sister - Business Dept. Chair 
        Folder 39 - Everett, Sister Marjorie - Workshop Way
        Folder 40 - Flory, Sister Ancilla Marie - English Dept. Chair 
        Folder 41 - Flickinger, Sister Grace Mary - Biology Dept. and Athletic Faculty Representative
Box 2
Series 2 - Sisters of the Blessed Sacrament
     Subseries A: Individuals
        Folder 1 - Fitzpatrick, Mary Elizabeth - President of The Sisters of the Blessed Sacrament
        Folder 2 - Francis, Sister Barbara Marie - Geography Dept. 
        Folder 3 - Frances Mary, Sister - Sociology
        Folder 4 - Fraser, Sister Bernadette Marie - Financial Affairs & Assistant to the Director
        Folder 5 - Gallagher, Sister Mary Matthias - Assistant to the Director of Religious Affairs
        Folder 6 - Gauthier, Sister Lillian - Assistant Librarian & College of Pharmacy Dept.
        Folder 9 - Helene, Sister M. - University Dean
        Folder 11 - Haynes, Sister Juliana - Piano and Music Education, Board of Directors
        Folder 13 - Holzer, Sister Janet Marie - Chief Financial Office
        Folder 14 - Hurley, Sister Maureen - Biology Dept. 
        Folder 15 - Jeffries, Sister Beatrice - Campus Ministry
        Folder 17 - Kenney, Sister Josephina - Education Dept., President of Xavier University of Louisiana (1955-1965)
        Folder 18 - Kleinhaus, Sister Rosemarie - Math and Vice President of Academic Affairs
        Folder 19 - Kuhn, Sister Florence - University Relations
        Folder 20 - Laboure, Sister Marie - Manager of University Bookstore
        Folder 21 - Lane, Sister Vera - Chairman of the Dept. of Secondary Education
        Folder 23 - Loughlin, Sister Monica - Biology Dept., Chairman of Medical Technology Dept., Dean of Arts & Sciences,
                                         Board of Trustees, Assistant to the President, Catholic Identity and Mission Integration
        Folder 24 - M. Luca Carl, Sister - Music Dept. 
        Folder 25 - Lynch, Sister Marie Elizabeth - Chairman of the Dept. of Business Administration & Economics
        Folder 26 - Lynch, Sister Jean - Education Dept., Dean of Graduate School
        Folder 27 - Lynch, Sister Patricia - History Dept. 
        Folder 28 - Malloy, Sister Regina Rosaria - Director of the Junior School of Music
        Folder 29 - Malmstrom, Sister M. Carl - Chemistry Dept. 
        Folder 34 - McGraw, Sister Concepta - Assistant Librarian 
        Folder 35 - Miriam Therese, Sister - Music Dept.
        Folder 36 - Malone, Sister Mary Francis - Fine Arts & Communication
        Folder 37 - Moline, Sister Nobert - Board of Trustees
        Folder 38 - Marshall, Sister Patricia - Director of Computer Science
 
Box 3
Series 2 - Sisters of the Blessed Sacrament
     Subseries A: Individuals
        Folder 1 - Neely, Sister Lurana - Art Dept. 
        Folder 2 - O'Donnell, Sister Mary Jane - Admissions, Coordinator of Records
        Folder 3 - O'Roarke, Sister M. Margaret - Secretary to the Dean
        Folder 4 - Nestler, Sister M. Louis - Assistant Librarian
        Folder 5 - Pelligro, Sister M. Annunciata - Foreign Languages Dept. 
        Folder 6 - Paul Mary, Sister - Biology Dept.
        Folder 8 - M. Peter Claver, Sister - Business Administration
        Folder 9 - Maria Pietro, Sister - Business Administration
        Folder 10 - Pilon, Sister Grace - Education Dept., Workshop Way
        Folder 11 - Quinn, Sister Miriam Francis - Math Dept. 
        Folder 12 - Redempta, Sister - Library Science
        Folder 14 - Riggs, Sisger Valerie - Sociology
        Folder 15 - Ross, Sister Maris Stella - President of Xavier University of Louisiana, (1965-1968)
        Folder 17 - Ryan, Sister Madeleine Sophie - Education Dept., Dean of Women
        Folder 18 - Scavito, Sister M. Antonia - Manager of the Printing Office
        Folder 21 - Sisson, Sister Mary Elise - Music Dept. & Founder of Xavier Opera
        Folder 22 - Smith, Sister Roberta (Sister Marie Barat) - Dean of Women, Admission Officer, Co-Founder of Xavier University Archives
        Folder 23 - Stachter, Sister M. William - Education and Chemistry Dept.
        Folder 27 - Tiphe, Sister - (No Images)
        Folder 28 - Victorine, Sister - Manager of University Bookstore
        Folder 29 - Wallauer, Srister Loretta - (No Images)
        Folder 30 - Wicks, Sister Madeleine - Assistant Librarian
        Folder 31 - Wagner, Sister - (No Images)
        Folder 32 - Wynkoop, Sister Barbara - Clinical Pharmacy Dept.
        Folder 33 - Yestadt, Sister Maria Mercedes - Music Dept. 
        Folder 35 - Young, Sister Mary David - Board of Trustees
        Folder 36 - Scally, Sister M. Eucharista - (No Images)
 
Box 3
Series 2 - Sisters of the Blessed Sacrament
     Subseries B: Groups
 

Photograph of the Sisters of the Blessed Sacrament from the 50th Anniversary Celebration - 1943

Portrait of Mother Agatha Ryan, S.B.S.

Sister Mary Markita Paul, S.S.F., Sister Mary Alice Weschler, S.B.S., an Other Sisters at the House of Studies at Xavier University

Sister Mary Grace Connely, S.B.S, Sister Helen Pesta, S.B.S., Sister Patricia Lynch, S.B.S. during Ceremony

PictureSister Redempta, S.B.S. with Unidentified Students at the Library

Sister Regina, S.B.S.