Skip to main content

Arthur P. Bedou Photographs Collection Guide: Digital Collection

Arthur P. Bedou (July 6, 1882 – July 2, 1966) was an African-American photographer based out of New Orleans, Louisiana.

Collection Description

The Arthur P. Bedou Photographs Collection consists of photographs by the leading black photographer of New Orleans in the first half of the twentieth century, including the last pictures taken of Marcus Garvey in the U. S. and extensive documentation of Booker T. Washington's last speaking tours.

Archives Contact Information

Xavier Archives and Special Collections

Library Resource Center, Room 319

Hours of Operation:

Mon-Fri  8:00AM to 5:00PM

(504) 520-7655 or Email: Archives@xula.edu

Collection Standards

Overview

The Xavier University Library Collections Digitization Initiative focuses on building digital collections of enduring value drawn from materials in the Archives and Special Collections. Collections in process of digitization are chosen based on historical and cultural value, as well as conditional necessity. 

Conservation

Materials to be digitized receive conservation review prior to digitization. All manuscripts are stabilized for digitization, rehoused by Xavier University Archival Standards, and all items are ssured long-term preservation within Xavier University Archives and Special Collections.

Access and Location

Digital collections are available online through Xavier University Library Resource Center Digital Collections. Physical items are located in the Xavier Library Archives and Special Collections, Library Resource Center - Room 319

Xavier University Administration Building - ca. 1930s

Collection Guide

Using this Collection Guide:

Find the Box and/or Folder you wish to explore and click on the available link.

 

The Arthur P. Bedou Photographs Collections contains images taken by the leading black photographer of New Orleans in the first half of the twentieth century, including the last pictures taken of Marcus Garvey in the United States and extensive documentation of Booker T. Washington's last speaking tours.

You will find photographs of famous figureheads, such as Presidents Theodore Roosevelt, William McKinley, and William Howard Taft, as well as African American Republican Politician Walter L. Cohen, Bishop Isaiah B. Scott, and Emmett J. Scott, the highest ranking African American in President Woodrow Wilson's administration. This Collection provides an amazing visual history of the African American Photographer and is one of the most Historic Collections housed at Xavier University of Louisiana.

Please note that there are other Arthur P. Bedou Photographs located within the accompanying Xavier Photography Collections so make sure to explore our other holdings. 

If you can help identify any of the unknown/unidentified images, please contact us at Archives@xula.edu.

Image Identifiers (ie. 001.01.A.1.001) are Organized by: Box, Series, Sub-Series, Folder, Item. 

Click on any of the Folders below to see items in the Collection.

Collection Guide

Box I 
Series 1 - New Orleans
     Subseries A: Individuals
     Subseries B: Groups
                           Dedication of the University Library - 1937
        Folder 16E - Xavier University, Marching Band and Others at the Entrance to the
                           Administration Building - ca. Mid 1930s
        Folder 16F - Xavier University, First Annual Summer School of Catholic Action - ca. 1930s
        Folder 16H - Xavier University, Senior Music Recital, Mary Townsend accompanied on Piano
                           by Adrienne Martinez - May 1945
     Subseries C: Buildings
  
Series II: Booker T. Washington
     Subseries A: Individual
     Subseries B: Groups
 
Series III: Other Individuals
 
 
Box II 
Series IV - Oversize
 
Series V - Non-Photographic Items
        Folder 9 - Correspondence - 1988
        Folder 10 - New Orleans Tribune, "The Way We Were: Our Family Album" Issue, Vol. 4, No. 6 - July 1988
 

Complete Statistics

Collection Statistics:

Total Discoverable Items on ContentDM = 151 Images


Total Scanned Pages = 151


Total Digital Backup Space Used = 14.5 GB

 

Booker T. Washington Speaking to Crowd, 1915

Leland College

Pythian Temple Under Construction - New Orleans, 1908