Library Policies & Procedural Guidelines
General Library Policies
The Xavier University Library is a place for learning, conducting research, and scholarly reflection. The Xavier University Library Administration, Faculty and Staff are trained professionals who strive to provide such a place for our users. To this end, Library users are asked to follow the Library Code of Conduct. We expect our Library users to: Comply with all Library policies and procedures including the noise, food and drink, furniture, and computer use policies.
Users expect an environment that is clean, quiet, and conducive to study, research, and reading. Behaviors that disrupt these activities ARE NOT permitted:
FOOD & DRINK
Library users are permitted covered, non-alcoholic beverages and snacks.
The following are not permitted:
The library also expects library users to follow all university rules and regulations as well as local, state, and federal laws:
The University Librarian, Faculty and Staff members have the authority to exclude those who have ignored verbal warnings from the Library. Those who commit serious offenses will be liable to further disciplinary action.
The University Librarian may from time to time make special regulations regarding admission to and use of particular areas of the Library. Any user who commits or attempts to commit offenses stated in this Code, whether members of the University Community or not, may be asked to leave the Library. Such persons may be subject to other warning, fines, and restitution, as well as other penalties. Library users are responsible for observing the policies, rules, and regulations of Xavier University. Xavier expects all students to conduct themselves as mature and responsible citizens in accordance with accepted standards of social behavior, to respect the rights of others, and to refrain from any conduct which obstructs the work of the university or injurious to the welfare of the University.
Room Booking Policy
General Management Policies
Xavier University Library has twelve (6) Individual Study rooms, eighteen (18) Group Study rooms.
Group Study rooms are intended as a space for students (up tp 6) to work and study together. They are not intended for either individual study or socializing.
Individual Study rooms are intended as a space for one student to work alone. They are not intended for either group study, socializing, sleeping, and eating meals.
Who can reserve rooms?
Only current XU students with a valid XUID and email address may reserve rooms within the University Library.
How do I reserve a group study room?
Group Study Rooms may only be reserved through the LibCal online reservation booking system at: http://www.xula.edu/library
When can we reserve the room?
Rooms may be reserved two weeks in advance anytime up to next available time slot.
All bookable rooms are available for reservation during times when the Library location is open. Please refer to the library’s homepage for hours of operation. *Please be sure to confirm your reservation within 15 minutes of booking or your reservation will be forfeited.*
How many people do we need to reserve these rooms?
To reserve: a room for group study, groups must have at least a minimum of 2 and a maximum of 6 people.
To reserve: a room for individual study, only 1 person is needed.
How long can we book the room?
Rooms are reserved in 1-hour time slots. Reservations are limited to 2 time slots per room. Groups may stay beyond their reserved time if no one else has reserved that room at that time.
You will receive an email confirming your reservation that includes a link you can use to cancel your reservation.
There is a 15-minute grace period attached to your reservation. If your group does not arrive within the grace period the reservation is void and the room becomes openly available.
Be prepared to show proof of registration at any time during your reserved time slot.
Anyone who reserves a room is expected to clean up after themselves and leave the room ready for the next group. Remove all belongings and dispose of trash when you exit.
All group study rooms have a whiteboard. Please use only appropriate markers and erasers on the whiteboards. If you do not have your own dry-erase markers or erasers, the User Services Desk can provide markers and erasers for check-out. .
Please respect your fellow students; keep noise to a minimum.
If you need to view or listen to an audible resource, you are required to use ear-buds.
The library has provided a Food Eating Zone on the 1st floor outside the entrance of the 24 hours study room. All greasy foods and aromatic food items must consumed in this space.
Contact library staff at the User Services Desk at 504-520-7305 if you need assistance.
**The Library reserves the right to cancel any reservation that is not in accord with our policies
Faculty Research Carrels Policy
Pilot year: 2018-2019
The Xavier University of Louisiana Library will pilot a Faculty Research Carrel service effective September 2018 through July 2019. There are 6 Faculty Research Carrels on the 3rd floor of the Library, rooms 312-317. Four of the Carrels are reservable on an annual basis (September - July); two of the Carrels are reservable on a per academic term basis.
The Faculty Research Carrels are available to all full-time members of the Xavier University faculty for purposes of research and scholarship. The Carrels are available on a first-come, first-serve basis by submitting an application to the Library Office; keys are distributed through the Library Office.
Xavier University of Louisiana is the only Catholic and historically Black University in the United States. The ultimate purpose of the University is the promotion of a more just and humane society. To this end, Xavier prepares its students to assume roles of leadership and service in society. This preparation takes place in a pluralistic teaching and learning environment that incorporates all relevant educational means, including research and community service. So that they will be able to assume roles of leadership and service, Xavier graduates will be:
Prepared for continual spiritual, moral, and intellectual development,
liberally educated in the knowledge and skills required for leadership and service, and
educated in a major field, so that they are prepared to complete graduate or professional school and to succeed in a career and in life.
At the center of intellectual life on campus, the Xavier University Library provides appropriate materials for research instruction, as well as the promotion of knowledge and cultural development of students, staff and faculty.
This statement of the Collection Development Policy for the Xavier University Library has been developed with the cooperation of members of the professional library staff, the Vice-president for Academic Affairs, and the Faculty Library Committee. Its purpose serves to clarify general policies of the Library with regard to principles upon which the library collection is built, both in general and with respect to specific types of material. This policy statement should be used by faculty and library personnel in making recommendations for purchase and in selection and acquisition activities. It is intended that this policy statement be reviewed every three years by the professional library staff and the Faculty Library Committee, and that recommendations for changes be submitted to the University Librarian (Library Director) or Head of Collection Resources.
The mission of the Xavier University Library is to support the mission and goals of the University by serving as the primary provider of informational resources, supporting a holistic learning environment and promoting a cycle of lifelong learning among students and faculty. The major operational objective is the acquisition and organization of information in its various forms and the instruction of both faculty and students in its proper use.
The Library’s collection practices remain flexible enough to provide support for new curricula or individual courses, changes in existing curricula, changes in research trends, and changes in technology and formats of presentation. The Library’s representation on University committees and other bodies permits Library faculty and administration to stay abreast of new curricula and educational developments that impact collection development.
Xavier is composed of the College of Arts and Sciences, the College of Pharmacy and a Graduate Studies Program. The University offers programs leading to the Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Music, Bachelor of Science, Master of Arts, Master of Arts in Teaching, Educational Doctorate in Counseling, Master of Science, Master of Theology and the Doctor of Pharmacy. In addition, the Center of Continuing Studies and Distance Learning offers evening and online continuing education courses to address the needs of students of all ages, career stages and socio-economic backgrounds seeking alternative arrangements for higher learning. The Library’s collections are developed to support all academic programs.
Xavier primarily draws students from Louisiana (55.6%) with majority of them being from New Orleans. Other states with large representation include Texas and Georgia. Students from fifteen foreign countries are in attendance at Xavier.
From its founding, Xavier has embraced a special mission to serve the African American Catholic community; however, its doors have always been open to qualified students of every race and creed. Today 69.7 percent of its enrollment is African American and 26 percent is Catholic. Xavier University enrollment is approximately 2,997 students of which most are female.
Of the 221 full-time faculty members, 96.8% hold terminal degrees and 48.9% are tenured. More than 40 XU faculty members serve as endowed chairs or endowed professors, which provides additional financial support for their research and teaching. Library collections support the academic and extracurricular needs of students, along with the teaching and research needs of faculty members. The collections also support the work of University administrators and staff.
The library is charged specifically with the responsibility of serving the reading, reference and research needs of the University, its faculty and students. Therefore, the collection development policy of Xavier Library aims to build a collection containing those materials that best serve the objectives of that clientele, both now and in the future. In acquiring information and making it available to library patrons, it is the Library’s intent to provide resources on a broad enough spectrum that all sides of any issues are represented. To the greatest extent possible, the Library should avoid censorship and provide a free flow of knowledge and ideas within the walls of the academy.
The library advises users to follow the Copyright Act at 17 U.S.C. § 108 which provides a set of rules regarding library reproductions when using materials for research and information. The Library defers liability for adhering to this code to users, as stated clearly on signs displayed in location where copy machines are utilized.
Xavier University Library houses over 130,259 titles and currently subscribes to nearly 1,863 periodicals and newspapers. It has approximately 2,174 serial titles in its collection. The Library provides access to Federal and State documents electronically. Approximately 721,000 microforms provide access to a wide range of periodical backfiles, Educational Resource Information Clearinghouse (ERIC) documents, books and manuscript collections.
The Archives and Special Collections Division holds a substantial collection of rare books, manuscripts, photographs, and ephemera related to African-American history and culture, history of Louisiana and the Gulf-Caribbean region, U.S. Roman Catholicism, and the creative writing of the modern Deep South.
The Technology and Digital Initiatives Center features classical and jazz repertoire on tape recording and compact disks, instructional materials in a variety of formats, and a growing library of African and African American film, films set in New Orleans and Louisiana, and films adapted from classic Southern novels and stories. There are more than 4,478 audiovisual units in the center.
The Library’s collections are all searchable in the Xavier Automated Catalog. Apple IPADs are located on all four floors to provide access to all electronic data sources. Additionally, access to a growing library of full-text articles in major publications in the sciences and humanities is available through the Internet via the library’s database collection.
The library is housed on the first four floors of the Library Resource Center. The Interlibrary Loan Department and Reserve Collection are located on the first floor. Display areas containing popular book titles and exhibition cases are also on the first floor. The second floor of the Library is home to bound periodicals, microforms, Folios and Chinese language materials. Proceeding to the third floor patrons will find the stacks or circulating collection and the University Archives and Special Collections. The fourth floor of the Library is home to the Technology and Digital Initiative’s media materials. Reference books, children’s books and periodicals are also located on the fourth floor.
The library is open 7:30AM - 2AM five days a week, with hours for most public services available on nights and weekends when school is in session. Special hours are observed during holidays and during the summer months, and extended hours.
In terms of format, the Library governs development of its collection by the following guidelines:
The core collection will include items of curricular interest, both fiction and nonfiction, using the Association for College and Research Libraries’ Standards for College Libraries, 2011 edition, as a guide for determining acceptable volume numbers for a university of Xavier’s size and academic mission.
The Xavier University Library Resource Center supports the American Library Association’s Library Bill of Rights, its Freedom To Read statements and its statement on Challenged Materials. The library supports the free exchange of all ideas and opinions to support academic freedom at Xavier University of Louisiana.
Collection management and selection decisions will be made independently of interest group pressure or coercion of any sort. The Library’s collections will be made available to all patrons of the community served. If the issue of vandalism should occur, we may reserve the right to protect materials by placing them on reserve. However, no one will be denied access to these materials.
No materials will be censored by the Library faculty or staff. The Library will endeavor, within the limits of available resources, to present all sides or positions of an issue within the collection. If any individual or group issues a complaint of censorship against the Library or the University, that person or group will be referred to this policy and the three ALA documents mentioned above. If necessary, the Library will reply verbally or in writing to the person or group making the complaint.
It is recognized that the requirements for library materials vary in the different subject areas. The library will attempt to follow current and projected degree and research programs in meeting the needs of the various academic departments. The university catalog and/or long-range plans will be utilized to document the three levels of collection development intensity as follows:
A selective collection serving to introduce and define the subject and to indicate the varieties of information that are not necessarily represented in the university curricula. It will include basic works of recognized writers in all subject fields, and reference and biographical works as well as fundamental bibliographies in all subject areas, and representative journals. The level’s coverage would include primarily English language materials.
A collection of works to meet all instructional needs at the undergraduate level. It includes all basic works, complete sets of works by important writers and critical works about them, selections of works by secondary writers, a wide range of basic journals, reference works, and bibliographies.
A collection of materials in English, other Western European languages and Chinese covering fundamental works of scholarship for use by upper-level undergraduate students, graduate students, and faculty members. In addition to current materials, the library will attempt to obtain retrospective works, on a selected basis, including serials, reference sets and bibliographies. This would be done to serve departments granting undergraduate degrees, plus those departments granting graduate degrees.
Selection of library materials is the joint responsibility of the University and Library faculty. The primary responsibility for collection lies with the University Librarian and her library liaisons. The University Librarian and library faculty members will assume the responsibility for balancing the collection by selecting materials for subject areas that have been neglected.
Each librarian serves as a liaison to one or more academic departments on campus. These assignments are designated by the University Librarian. In addition to other roles, liaisons solicit and accept orders for purchase from the departments they represent. They aid in collection development by providing lists, catalogs, etc. to assist in faculty selection. Liaisons are encouraged to follow the Liaison Guidelines in Appendix A of this document.
Department liaisons serve as the official communication between the Library and the academic faculty. Library faculty members serve as liaisons to the various academic departments on campus. The academic department’s chairperson or designated individual serves as that department’s library liaison. Collection development, journal holdings bibliographic instruction, reference services and other areas of concern are discussed. While it is the prerogative of every faculty member to participate in the material selection process in areas of their particular expertise, it is the department liaisons that serve as the link between the library and building an adequate collection in the various subject areas.
The University administration is responsible for the amount approved and allocated each year for the library budget. The University Librarian, as fiscal agent for the library, is responsible for the expenditure of all library funds, including the funds utilized for the purchase of resources in all its formats. In executing his her role in the expenditure of the materials funds, the University Librarian works with the professional members of his her staff acting in the capacity of subject bibliographers.
Once the annual budget is finalized, those portions of the materials budget reserved for use by the academic departments will be determined by the University Librarian, taking into account the recommendations of the library faculty, considering such criteria as total funds available, library materials essential for the instructional needs of each department, number of faculty in each department, number of courses taught (graduate and undergraduate), new courses offered, deficiencies in the existing collection, number of students enrolled, and the average prices of books, serials, database subscriptions and other materials in the subject areas.
It should be remembered that the actual funds reserved for use by the academic departments are not transferred from the library budget to the budgets of the academic departments. They are reserved by the library for the purchase of materials requested by the academic departments and remain, at all times, a part of the library’s budget.
Due to budgetary constraints, all new print periodical and database subscription requests must be approved by the University Librarian.
If any money is left over after the initial ordering period, the library will use the moneys to purchase materials in subject areas that are under-subscribed. The University Librarian will, with the advice of her library faculty acting as subject bibliographers and her Budget Advisory Committee, spend the remaining funds.
All materials purchased with funds allocated to the library become library property, available for the use of the entire campus community. It is inappropriate to use library funds to acquire materials for the exclusive use of any group or individual, and departmental or personal office collections should be bought with the funds of the department or person using such collections.
With due regard to the availability of the resources of nearby libraries and with an eye towards the possibility of various cooperative programs with other libraries in the city of New Orleans and the state of Louisiana it is the aim of the library to build, in all appropriate fields, a collection of the highest degree of excellence, both qualitative and quantitative. Currently there are no cooperative collection development agreements in effect. Xavier is a member of two consortiums that have reciprocal borrowing agreements CALL (Council on Academic Library Liaison) is made up of academic libraries in the New Orleans area and LALINC (Louisiana Academic Library Information Network Consortium) is composed of academic libraries in Louisiana. The agreements between the libraries are designed to enhance the resources and do not replace the library’s goal in acquiring the resources necessary to support the curricula.
The primary role of the Interlibrary loan service is to share resources obtained from other libraries to support the University’s research needs. Interlibrary loan supplements the library’s collection but is not a substitute for collection development. The intent of interlibrary loan services is to complement the resources of the library and not to provide the majority of research material. Current copyright laws apply to interlibrary loan material.
The Institutional and Library mission (see above) provides the framework for selection of all library materials. The quality of content and fulfillment of academic curricular needs and student/staff/faculty needs are the first criteria against which any potential purchase is evaluated. Specific considerations in choosing individual items include some or all of the following:
Lasting curricular/research/recreational value of the content
Appropriateness of level of treatment (professional, graduate, upper level undergrad.,etc.)
Strength of current holdings in same or similar subject areas
Value, meaning the cost is appropriate to the content provided within
Suitability of format to content
Authoritativeness of the author
Reputation of the publisher
Print contrasted to electronic format
Hardbound contrasted to paperback
Xavier Alumni focus
These considerations apply to all types of materials. Specific formats with special considerations are listed below.
The Reference Collection is a non-circulating collection of materials designed to provide quick access to factual information in all subject fields. The reference collection brings together handbooks, encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, indexes, bibliographies, abstracts, statistical compilations, and other aids that are most often needed by patrons and reference staff members. The materials in the reference Department are reviewed on a regular basis. Specific titles may be weeded or shifted to the general circulating collection.
The primary responsibility for selection of reference materials lies with the Reference Librarians. Faculty members in the various subject areas are also consulted. The collection remains current through standing orders and individual purchases. As a rule, only the latest edition of a reference work will be shelved in the Reference Area. Older editions will be transferred to the general circulating collection or discarded, as recommended by the reference staff.
The Library purchases materials in various media to support instruction and research and entertainment at Xavier. The Selection Guidelines apply to media purchases, in addition to the following considerations:
cost and licensing restrictions
quality of the production (artistic and technical)
suitability of the format for library media technology and equipment
The Library Technology and Digital Incentives Department maintains the media collection and viewing equipment, much of which is available inside and outside of the library. It is the responsibility of the faculty member using library media materials in their teaching to comply with copyright and fair use restrictions.
The Media Collection will be selective, rather than comprehensive, and its focus will be to support the current curriculum of the University. The same policies, criteria, and objectives applied to book selection are applied to selecting audio-visual materials, with additional considerations to include quality of sound, photography, color reproduction, and compatibility with available equipment for utilization. Streaming video and multimedia are now the preferred format.
Faculty members and librarians may select audio-visual materials that will be purchased from departmental or general book and periodical funds. Orders for audio-visual materials should be submitted in the same manner as book requests. It is highly desirable that flyers and brochures describing the materials be submitted with the order requests.
A “serial” is any publication issued in successive parts bearing numeric or chronological designations and intended to be continued indefinitely, regardless of format (print, non-print, or electronic.) Within the Library these publications may also be referred to as “continuing resources” or “recurring expenditures”. Selection of serial titles at XULA LRC is based on the general Selection Guidelines above, plus the following specific considerations:
availability of full-text access in a database made available through the Library
inclusion in indexes/abstracts made available through the Library
preservation cost (when applicable)
reputation of the journal, publisher, and vendor
frequency of Interlibrary Loan requests
The “selection considerations” listed above under Electronic Resources also apply to electronic journals and databases.
The University Archives and Special Collections Division is a special repository for manuscript materials, rare and other non-circulating books, rare serials, and three-dimensional artifacts owned by the University Library. The collecting focus includes the history of the University, African-American history and culture in general, American Roman Catholicism, and the history of the region in which the University is located, that is to say the Gulf of Mexico-Caribbean region, including the U.S. South and, especially, New Orleans and Louisiana, thereby making Special collections, in part, a Louisiana Collection. In addition, the Archives seeks to house publications, irrespective of the topics, for which special protection is necessary, whether because of the item’s rarity, fragility, or potential value. Every division of the Library, including Public, technical, and Instructional Media Services, has sent such materials to Xavier Archives for special care. Topics about which the Division does not ordinarily collect include Africa, Catholicism outside the United States, and non-black U.S. history outside our region.
The foremost mission of Xavier Archives is to house the records of Xavier University of Louisiana, and the foremost responsibility of the Archives staff is the identification and solicitation of those records. The Division also maintains the manuscript Special Collections, including papers of individual persons and families (some associated with the University, some not), records of organizations or institutions other than Xavier University, and collections of manuscript materials on specific topics within the collecting focus Current policy of the Division is not to purchase manuscript collections.
The published Special Collections are acquired mainly through purchase with funding from the regular Library budget, sometimes with funding from special grants, and often by donation. These include rare books and fragmentary or rare serials on topics outside the collecting focus have long been held by the University and were gifts, including incunabula (books printed between 1454 and 1554) and books printed in the U.S. before 1820. Today, Xavier Archives particularly seeks first editions and signed or inscribed copies of books by African-American and Southern authors and related serials. Most such accessions are chosen by the University Librarian in consultation with the Archives staff.
Children’s materials will be included in the general collection only in terms of support to the Division of Education. A limited number of items in fiction and non-fiction will be collected as related to the study and teaching of English and early childhood through secondary education. Materials are collected in book form only. The collection will be selective, rather than comprehensive, including representative books that might be found in typical elementary or junior high school libraries. Special interest will be paid to the collection of Newbery, Caldecott, and other award-winning titles. Textbooks will not be included. As a rule, only one copy of any title will be purchased. Selection of children’s materials will come primarily from recommendations from the Education Department or the English Department.
Fiction titles are purchased in support of the study and teaching of African American writers as an aspect of the African American Studies program. Fiction purchases are also made to meet the needs of the Department of English and those of the Archives program.
The Library primarily acquires English language materials. Titles in foreign languages are purchased if they are considered essential works or if they are used in the teaching of or research on a foreign language on campus. Foreign language purchases will support curricular objectives of the University. Materials used as aids in the study and teaching of foreign languages will be included.
The main purpose of the reserve collection is to facilitate access to course related readings or other materials such as tests and or guides. Reserve materials may be from the library’s collection or the instructor’s personal collection. Materials that the Library does not own may be ordered with departmental allocation following the normal ordering procedures well in advance of need.
Materials are placed on reserve at the request of an instructor. Librarians may also put high demand materials on reserve to assure availability and access to the materials. When material is put on reserve, the instructor is required to fill out the reserve form which can be obtained at the Reserve Circulation Desk. The library staff require at least 2 days to process reserve material. Current copyright laws apply to reserve materials.
Xavier Library has four types of reserves. Closed reserve, in which the material cannot leave the library. Sometimes a 2- hour time period is assigned to closed reserve. Overnight reserve in which materials may be checked out after 4:00 PM and returned by 9:00 AM the next day. Three-day reserve in which materials may be checked out for three days. Seven-day reserve, in which materials may be checked out for 7 days. Instructors determine the circulation time period and when the material is to be removed from Reserve.
While the library recognizes a responsibility to serve the research needs of the graduate program and the faculty, the major responsibility of the Library lies with the teaching program on the undergraduate and graduate level, and this function shall receive first priority in selecting materials. After provision has been made for this first priority, limited research materials may be purchased in those curricular fields where graduate degrees are awarded. Only in rare instances will materials required for the personal research of individual faculty members be considered for purchase. In most instances, special research needs of students and faculty alike can best be served by use of the borrowing of materials through interlibrary loan from other institutions. The response and delivery time for interlibrary loans has improved dramatically with the use of OCLC terminals to identify the location of materials requested and the library’s subsequent use of OCLC for ordering materials from remote locations.
Electronic resources can be defined as information resources available online, and typically refer to databases, electronic journals and ebooks. Because of space considerations and other advantages, electronic resources are becoming the preferred format for many university libraries. Selection considerations at XULA Learning Resources Center for electronic resources are:
accessibility (perpetual vs term, IP address is preferred over password access, on-campus only or remote access, and downloading options)
multiple or single simultaneous user
licensing restrictions and vendor reliability
functionality and ease of use of the platform
software or hardware requirements
mobile devices supporting the resource (iPad, Kindle, Nook, Android, etc.)
availability of alternate formats
content (quality of images and graphics, completeness, and version of record)
Ebooks represent the fasting growing segment of the publishing industry, and many academic libraries are routinely purchasing Ebooks for their collections. Ebooks offer a number of advantages for users, and are preferred by many users. Ebooks are available 24/7 with remote access, do not take up shelf space, and can be downloaded. Many ebook platforms support personal bookshelves, notes and other features, and enhanced searching. Because of these and other advantages, the Library will continue to move in the direction of acquiring ebooks to add to the collection. Xavier Library currently has collections of ebooks available from multiple publishers and vendors. Different models (subscription, perpetual access, and patron driven) and providers will be considered for ebook acquisitions to meet the needs of the Xavier academic community.
The preferred format is electronic. Duplication (purchasing both paper and electronic) is exceptional. Reasons for exceptions include licensing (especially cancellation rights and ILL), pricing, and superiority of print quality.
Preservation and perpetual access are priorities for XULA Learning Resource Center. Print journals will continue to be bound.
Missing issues of print journals are only ordered when there is no satisfactory electronic equivalent as determined by the liaisons and the Continuing Resources Librarian.
Electronic is the preferred format. Duplication is avoided.
The Library will collect materials in microform selectively as microfilm and microfiche are considered obsolete formats. When possible, electronic archives will be the preferred format for non-print preservation. When the purchase of microform is warranted, the quality of the microfilm/microfiche, the compatibility with existing Library microform equipment, storage/cabinet space, and the cost-effectiveness of microform vs. binding will be considered.
Current microform purchases are limited to select serial subscriptions and backfiles, and ERIC documents.
Electronic is the preferred format. Since access to current news is so widely available online, the Library limits the number of print newspaper subscriptions purchased to the most prominent local, regional, state, and national titles only. Generally, backfiles are retained for less than a year, and microfilm archives are purchased as warranted.
The library strives to maintain a current collection, and titles in-print will be given priority over out-of-print titles. Out-of-print titles will be purchased only if the title is considered essential for the library’s collection, or if requested by a faculty member to support research or instruction. Titles will be checked for availability from Alibris and other used booksellers and purchase decisions will be made on the basis of cost and condition. Faculty members will be referred to ILL if a title cannot be obtained at a reasonable price.
Textbooks required for courses taught at Xavier are not routinely purchased by the library. Textbooks not required for classes are usually not purchased, due to high cost and the frequent need to update with revised editions. Exceptions are made only if a textbook offers unique or superior coverage of information on a research topic, and if it meets the standard selection guidelines.
Maps are not purchased due to the problems associated with the classification, processing and the care and housing of these materials. Atlases are purchased using the selection guidelines listed above.
The library will acquire a working collection of music scores needed in current instructional programs as requested by faculty of the Music Department to Library Acquisitions.
Computer software is not acquired by the Library for circulation. A limited amount of software accompanies purchased material in print format, but is kept in the Instructional Media Center for controlled circulation.
The library will acquire thesis and dissertations by students of the University for the University Archives and Special Collections. Theses and dissertations by active faculty will be accepted as gifts but will not be actively sought by the library. Theses and Dissertations of other universities will be selected as required for the general collection by the same criteria used for book selection. Orders for such theses may be submitted to Acquisitions Department on the same forms used for book orders.
No art, including illustrative material or posters, will be deliberately acquired for the Library. Donated works of art will be subject to the same selection criteria as other acquisitions, and stored in the Archives and Special Collections Department.
The Library will acquire resources to support the study and teaching of academic disciplines, including research and examination guides and manuals. The policy does not suggest the accumulation of tests of any particular category, but will respond to the needs of any academic department in areas as needed. The Library will promote the development of critical thinking skills and analysis of information.
The Library has standing orders for material from selected publishers and for specific series. It is a means of insuring that current information in various categories is automatically acquired when it is published. Standing orders are reviewed on a continuous basis.
Selection criteria for gifts (books, periodicals and other library information materials) are essentially the same as for purchased material. Gifts will be evaluated by the same criteria as materials purchased.
The library welcomes gifts of useful materials, or money to purchase materials, provided they fit into its collection development policy and provided there are no restrictions attached as to their disposition or location. Gifts provide many valuable additions to the collection. Nothing will be added simply because it is “free.” Donated items generate processing and storage costs. Processing costs in terms of material, computer time and personnel, must be weighed before placing a gift in the library collection.
The Library staff will determine the suitability of individual gift items for the collection in accordance with the stated collection policy.
Generally, the library will not maintain gift collections as separate entities.
Librarians on this staff will not make appraisals of gifts for tax, inheritance or any other purpose. Any appraisal information used by the donor for tax purposed is the responsibility of the donor.
Gifts to the library as memorials to deceased relatives are accepted. A letter of appreciation will be sent to the donor or to any one member of the family of the deceased person who is to be memorialized.
Gifts in-kind such as equipment, furniture, and paintings are desirable and acceptable. The library retains the right to accept or decline gifts in-kind on an individual basis.
The library reserves the right to keep or dispose of any gifts, based upon the collection needs and policy.
“The library collection should be continually evaluated...for purposes both of adding new titles and identifying for withdrawal those titles which have outlived their usefulness. No title should be retained for which a clear purpose is not evident in terms of academic programs or extracurricular enrichment.”
Standards for College Libraries 2011
Weeding/De-Selection: Weeding in general is the withdrawing of damaged or obsolete materials from the library’s collections, a process that is an integral part of collection development and maintenance. Weeding will in some cases mean the relocation of material from one collection to another such as removal from the reference collection to the circulating stacks. It may also mean the removal of materials that no longer meet the needs of our population. The librarians are responsible for weeding on a continuing basis, but active participation by faculty representatives in their areas of interest is gratefully accepted. Generally, the same criteria apply to weeding as apply to the selection of new materials. The library will use several criteria to weed including shelf-time period. It will maintain a core collection with the understanding that needs of the university population change therefore the core collection will change from time to time.
Materials that fall into the following categories should be considered for withdrawal:
Worn, mutilated, or badly marked items (Decisions to replace are made on a title-by-title basis)
Duplicate copies of seldom used titles
Materials that contain outdated or inaccurate information
Titles of little curricular importance (Faculty members will be consulted before withdrawals are made.)
Duplication: Multiple copies of a title will be purchased only by request of a faculty member or in response to requests for certain highly circulated titles.
Replacement: The library will not automatically replace material withdrawn, lost damaged or stolen. Individual decisions will be made based on number of copies in the collection, existing coverage of the topic within the collection, existing coverage of the topic within the collection, demand for the title and availability of better or more current information on the subject.
Binding and Repairing: The decision to bind or repair will be done on a title-by-title basis. Minor repairs are done in-house when the need is detected early. Circulating, cataloged paperbound titles will usually be bound before circulation. Standing orders that are received on an annual basis will not be automatically bound.
Approval Plans: In an effort to maintain a balanced collection and to receive essential titles, Xavier Library will explore approval and slip plan options. Options may include setting up an approval plan to automatically receive titles (for example, award books, titles with regional interest, or in specific subject areas), and setting up slip notifications for firm orders in areas relevant to faculty research and instruction. Working with a library vendor offers a number of advantages for streamlining the acquisitions process, and firm order slip plans provide similar benefits to an approval plan. The use of an approval plan will also be determined by available funding.
Books received through an approval plan must meet the same SELECTION GUIDELINES as above. Selections are approved by the Library Director, with ongoing input from Library faculty and University faculty. It is up to the Library Director, with the consultation of the Collection Development Committee to determine whether we will accept or reject making use of an approval plan.
Database Trials: Database trials offer an excellent chance for faculty and librarians to review and evaluate online information resources prior to entering a subscription or making an actual one-time purchase. Trials provide an opportunity for librarians at Sims to become familiar and remain up to date with the most currently available electronic resources, and for faculty to determine if a resource meets their research and teaching needs.
A subscription or one-time database purchase, however, typically represents a significant financial commitment for the library. As such, the library will exercise discretion when setting up trials, and database trials will fall into two separate categories:
External Trials: External database trials will be made available to librarians, faculty, and students at Southeastern to review and use during the trial period. Librarians, faculty, and students will be given an opportunity to provide feedback and to evaluate the resource. The availability of funding will play a role in making the decision to set up an external trial.
Internal Trials: Internal database trials will be available only within the library, and will not be sent out or made accessible to faculty or students. These trials will be for professional development purposes, and will allow the librarians a chance to review information resources, regardless of the availability of current funding to acquire the resource.
Requesting a Trial
External Trials: A trial can be requested by any Xavier University faculty member. A request can be sent to the appropriate subject liaison, or sent directly to the Library Director. Subject liaisons receiving a request for a database trial must submit the request to the Library Director. The Library Director will make the final decision to approve or deny the request for a trial based on available funding and other considerations.
Internal Trials: Librarians and library staff members may request a trial to review and evaluate new or existing information resources. Internal trials allow librarians and staff a chance to try products seen at library conferences or reviewed in other resources. A request for an internal trial must also be sent to the Library Director, who will approve or deny the request.
After a trial is approved, the Library Director will forward the request to the Continuing Resources Librarian or Head of Acquisitions (depending on the format) to work with the publisher or vendor to initiate the trial. Liaison librarians and other library staff may not set up trials independently.
The Library Liaisons share responsibility for developing the library’s collections. Through the liaison program, they coordinate their efforts to ensure that the Library collects to meet the needs of the university as a whole, and the individual departments. All librarians, including the Library Director, serve as liaisons to several academic departments. The responsibilities of the liaisons are delineated below:
Library Liaisons select and initiate orders for materials for the Libraries’ collections. They identify resources in all formats that are appropriate to support existing research and academic programs. Consultation and communication with teaching faculty about their present, and future, curricular and research needs are part of this process.
Review and Evaluation of Library Resources
Library Liaisons oversee and evaluate existing collections. As with selection, this requires that they keep current with the changing needs of their assigned academic units. Liaisons assist with the preparation of library support documentation for accreditation, proposed programs, and other evaluative purposes.
Liaisons are also responsible for reviewing collections to identify materials to be withdrawn from the collection.
Liaisons review lost and stolen titles, as well as damaged and brittle materials, and make recommendations for their replacement or withdrawal from the collection.
Liaisons oversee the portion of the acquisitions budget that relates to their assigned subject areas, managing spending within deadlines and fiscal limits as well as dealing with the requirements of special allocations.
Communication and Liaison Responsibilities
Liaisons make and maintain contacts with faculty of the academic departments or programs for which they are responsible. They work with faculty to understand the goals of their assigned departments and to ensure that the Libraries fulfill the information needs of both the faculty and students in each program. This involves consultation with faculty about adding and/or canceling library resources as well as informing faculty about new services and resources that have been acquired by the Libraries.
User Education and Instruction
Library Liaisons help students and faculty learn to use the libraries; collections and services. They can participate in user education, in one-on-one consultation with students, and as guest lecturers in the classroom. For their assigned subjects, liaisons author and maintain Libguides to research and information resources.
Selection criteria for gifts (books, periodicals and other library information materials) are essentially the same as for purchased material. Gifts will be evaluated by the same criteria as materials purchased.
Library Exhibit/Display Policy
The Xavier University of Louisiana Library provides exhibit and display areas consistent with its mission, programs, and services. The Library develops exhibits and displays on a regular basis to promote the use of its collection and to highlight its diversity; to bring attention to special or under-used aspects of the collection; to make it easy to find information on topics of current issue; to celebrate special occasions; to encourage individuals to contribute to the expansion of knowledge; to support intellectual and creative growth. Not-for-profit groups and individuals may use the Library’s exhibit and display areas for educational, artistic, or cultural materials in accordance with the following provisions. This policy shall be attached to and made part of any request to display.
General Principles & Purpose
The purpose of library exhibits and displays is to contribute to the intellectual and cultural environment of the University Library and the greater university community. Display of artworks, posters, material culture, student works, and other visual resources make an important contribution to providing a welcoming and appealing facilities. Such works also extend the Libraries' instructional, developmental, and outreach programs.
To see the types of cases and spaces available for exhibits, please see our case guide, HERE.
Types of Displays
Applications can be found online and emailed to email@example.com. Applications are reviewed on an as-needed basis by the Library Display Committee. Displays may not be booked more than one year in advance, and applications should be submitted at a minimum of three weeks before the desired installation date.
Accepted applicants may not reassign usage of their approved space. Installations must be of the approved display/exhibit that is described in the application. The application can be found HERE.
Applications are reviewed by a committee of library staff and selected according to the following criteria (in alphabetical order):
NOTE: Displays should be appropriate for people of all ages.
The total length of the requested installation will last between 1-3 months (30-90 days), depending on the installation application, content, and will be evaluated on a case by case basis. The approved time-frame will include allocated time for installation and de-installation. No extra time prior to, nor post-exhibition will be allowed. The Library Display Committee reserves the right to reschedule, relocate, or cancel a display.
Installation and Removal
It is the responsibility of the individual or organization to set up and remove the display on agreed-upon dates and to provide all necessary equipment. Installation will occur during normal Library hours. Equipment and supplies, however, must first be approved by the Library Display Committee. Library staff and custodians are not available to provide assistance in setting up or taking down displays, unless otherwise requested and approved by the Library Dean. Lighting in the display areas cannot be adjusted. Materials to be displayed on walls must use the existing library hanging systems, and no physical changing/altering/painting any parts of the display cases or walls, unless otherwise previously approved by the Library Display Committee.
The individual or organization will provide at the time of installation a list of pieces in the display and descriptive signs/labels for each of the pieces. Each display shall also include information indicating who prepared it and whom to contact for further information.
Receptions & Exhibits Related Activities
Rooms in the Library may be, on occasion, available for receptions and other activities (workshops, talks, demonstrations) linked to exhibits. These should be discussed with the specific Library exhibit contact who will consult the room use policy and check the schedule to see whether a reception or other activity can be held.
Use of Library Materials
The library will provide the display areas to any official organization of Xavier University of Louisiana. It further encourages the temporary use of the library's collections in support of each exhibit's theme. All library materials for use in the display cases are to be checked out at the Circulation Desk using a Xavier Faculty/Student ID Card.
These items must be returned and checked back into the Circulation Desk no later than 4 days after the closing of the exhibit, or the item will be marked “lost” and a fee will be charged to the original account holder.
Guidelines For Safe And Proper Display
The method of displaying any Xavier University of Louisiana Library materials must be approved by the Digital Preservation Librarian/Associate Archivist/Library Display Committee.
Materials must be displayed in an archivally correct manner, i.e., they must suffer no damage nor be altered in any way by being placed on exhibit.
Any material touching the pages of a book or manuscript must be acid free.
Books, Scores, and Manuscripts
Manuscripts should be mounted on acid free board or paper. Self-adhesive tape, thumb tacks and pins should not be used directly on the material. They can be used to hold the mat or mounting board on display.
Books and scores when open should be supported in a cradle. They should be held open with strips of polyester film. (The use of paper clips, rubber bands, or heavy objects to hold books open is prohibited because it damages the book.) If standing, they should be fully supported and held upright between bookends. When displayed at an angle they should be adequately by non-abrasive and non-acidic materials.
Other Library Materials
Sound recordings: Only album covers or other containers, loose liner notes and other printed material associated with a sound recording may be exhibited. The disc, tape or cassette itself must never be part of an exhibit, and must be adequately protected while cover materials are on display.
Other materials: Musical instruments and other artifacts should be prepared for display in consultation with the Exhibits Coordinator liaison and other specialists as appropriate.
Materials not belonging to the library must be displayed according to the guidelines and wishes of the owner.
There are no fees to exhibit materials at the library. The library may assess fees to an exhibitor who neglects to retrieve all materials from library premises within the period stated in the original agreement. The library will attempt to contact the owner twice within ten days of the exhibit close. If the owner does not respond after ten days, the items will become property of the library to dispose of as it sees fit. In doing so, the library will follow its established practices for disposal of surplus property.
Requirements for Posting/Distributing Materials Relating to the Exhibit
Sale of Artwork
The library will never engage in selling or negotiating for the sale of artwork on behalf of the artist and/or the University; however, contact information for the artist(s) should be included in the artist’s biography.
Insurance and Liability
The individual or organization agrees to indemnify and hold harmless the City of New Orleans, Xavier University of Louisiana, the Library, its employees, and the Board of Trustees from liability in case of theft, vandalism, fire or any other loss or damage to the exhibited materials. If exhibitors desire insurance, they must arrange for it at their own expense.
The Library cannot provide storage for the property of organizations or individuals displaying in the Library. The individual or organization may be held liable for repairs to the Library that are a direct result of damages caused by a display or by its installation or removal.
Exhibits and displays must be placed so as to accommodate physical safety considerations. There cannot be loose cords or cabling; free-standing units must be secure; and ease of egress from the exhibit for emergency purposes must be assured. The exhibits must be set up so as to accommodate disability access.
By agreeing to exhibit your collection in the library, the owner/artist agrees to allow Xavier University Library the right to photograph items and use them for the purposes of promoting the exhibit and the library in general, giving appropriate credit to the owner/artist. A short description with or without photograph(s) of the display may be included in the library website, newsletter, social media, or community newsletters, at the library’s discretion. Failure to comply with any part of this policy may result in denial of future exhibit and display privileges.
The University Library's policy is to uphold the Copyright Laws under the United States Government.
The Copyright Law of the United States (Title 17, US Code) governs the photocopies or other reproduction of copyrighted materials.
The US Copyright Law generally prohibits a person from making certain uses (e.g., reproduction, distribution, performance, and display) of a copyrighted work without the permission of the owner.
For educational purposes, the US Copyright Law allows for specific and limited amounts of copying for teaching, scholarship, and research purposes, mostly through the Fair Use Statutes.
The Fair Use Doctrine
This allows limited use of copyrighted materials for educational and research purposes without permission from the copyright owners.
The four factors to consider if usage is considered Fair Use ("Limitations on exclusive rights: Fair use" (Section 107)):
Reproduction by Libraries and Archives
Section 108 "Limitations on exclusive rights: Reproduction by libraries and archives" provides specific conditions for a library or archives to reproduce a copy of a work for distribution or preservation without infringing on the copyright of the copyright owner.
The Digital Millennium Copyright Act
The Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA) was enacted in 1998. It seeks to update U.S. Copyright Law for the digital age in preparation for ratification of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) treaties.
Two key areas include making it a violation to circumvent a technological measure to access a copyrighted work; and trafficking in devices that allow circumventing the technological measures to access copyright works.
The TEACH Act
The “Technology, Education and Copyright Harmonization Act,” commonly known as the “TEACH Act,” was enacted by Congress on October 4, 2002. It is a full revision of Section 110(2) of the U.S. Copyright Act. Its provisions enable educators to use copyrighted materials for online or distance education, with certain restrictions.
Read more about the TEACH Act in Copyright for Libraries: TEACH Act by American Library Association and New Copyright Legislation (TEACH Act) by Cornell University Library.
Individuals found liable for copyright infringement may be subjected to statutory damages as stated in Section 504(c).