Skip to main content

Xavier University of Louisiana Library

InterLibrary Loan (ILL) and Request to Purchase

 

If you need a resource, (journal, article, book, chapter, etc.), that the Xavier University of Louisiana does not own, complete a request form and we will acquire it for you. The Library will either purchase the resource or borrow from another Library.

 

Who Can Request Resources?

All enrolled or employed Xavier University of Louisiana faculty, students, and staff may request that the University Library either purchase or borrow books, articles, chapters and other resources not currently held by the the Library.

  • Faculty, staff, and graduate student requests are sent directly to the Library's Collection Team to determine whether the resource is purchased or borrowed from another library.
  • Undergraduate student requests are sent directly to the Library Liaisons to determine whether the resource is purchased or borrowed from another library.

What is the process?

  1. First check the Library's current holdings:
    1. XULA's Discovery Search
    2. XULA's Database & Journal List
  2. If you would like to search beyond the Library's holdings, consider the following:
    1. WorldCat.org
    2. Google Scholar
  3. Once you have identified the resource you need, complete the relevant request form (tabs above)
  4. You will be notified once the resource is available.

*Forms are best viewed using Google Chrome. If you are using a browser that does no support embedded forms please click this link to access the form.

 

NOTICE: WARNING CONCERNING COPYRIGHT RESTRICTIONS -- The Copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement. This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgement, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law.

 

*Forms are best viewed using Google Chrome. If you are using a browser that does no support embedded forms please click this link to access the form.

 

NOTICE: WARNING CONCERNING COPYRIGHT RESTRICTIONS -- The Copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement. This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in itsjudgement, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law.

Xavier University of Louisiana’s University Library (XULA Library) lends to academic, public, special, not-for profit and for-profit organizations in the United States and beyond.

Fees:

The XULA Library is a reciprocal library and charges fees only to libraries that charge fees to us. Libraries in our reciprocal lending consortium, LOUIS, will not be charged.

Resources we lend:

Books in the circulating collection may be borrowed. Copies of journal articles from print and microfilm holdings will be sent (via UPS, U.S. Mail, fax) to borrowing libraries. Audiovisual material, microfilm, reference books, course reserve materials, archival material, and historical collection items may not be borrowed.

Lending policies:

Procedures:

Contact the Library’s Collection Team to set up a borrower’s account in XULA’s Library Management System; use ALA’s ILL form to record your request and then submit to the Library’s Collection Department.

Copyright compliance:

The XULA Library complies with the following:

Interlibrary Loan Code for the United States, 1994 revised 2008 and Explanatory Supplement

Copyright law of the United States - Title 17 § 108 (g)(2) of the United States Code

National Commission on New Technological Uses of Copyright Works (CONTU) guidelines

 

Contact Information

Xavier University of Louisiana

Library, Collections Team

1 Drexel Drive

New Orleans, LA 70125

Contact: Leslie Sam (lsam2@xula.edu, 724-223-6070), Collections Team Lead

Loading ...

Contacts

Leslie Sam, Collections Team Lead

Ashaki Haroon, User Services Team Lead

Tamera Hanken, Library Director

Kayla Siddell, Liaison areas: Business, Psychology, Sociology, Data Science, Graduate & Honor's Program

Mary George, Liaison areas: Physics, Chemistry, Engineering

Nancy Hampton, Liaison areas: Art, Music, Speech Pathology

Paul Haschak, Liaison areas: Political Science, Education, Counseling

Kevin Hebert, Liaison areas: Computer Science

Irwin Lachoff, Liaison areas: Archives, History, Mathematics

Teri Mojgani, Liaison areas: Communication studies, Mass Communication, Public Health

Paula Singleton, Liaison areas: Biology, Pharmacy

Hannah White, Liaison areas: English, Philosophy, Theology