Skip to main content

Arthur P. Bedou Photographs Collection Guide: Introduction

Arthur P. Bedou (July 6, 1882 – July 2, 1966) was an African-American photographer based out of New Orleans, Louisiana.

Header

This guide provides an overview of the Arthur P. Bedou Photographs Collection and you will find accompanying research links and beneficial reading to better understand the history of African American Photographers.

Portrait of American photographer Arthur P. Bedou (1882 - 1966)

XULA Library Resource Center

Xavier University of New Orleans

      Arthur P. Bedou (July 6, 1882 – July 2, 1966) was an African-American photographer based out of New Orleans, who was for a time the personal photographer of Booker T. Washington and documented extensively the last decade of Washington's life. He also documented campus life at Xavier University of Louisiana, The Tuskegee Institute, and the city life of New Orleans, especially the city's black residents.

     The Arthur P. Bedou Collection consists almost entirely of photographs by the leading black photographer in New Orleans in the early to mid-twentieth century, reflecting Mr. Bedou's work for clients in the city and for Booker T. Washington on tour. 

Archives Contact Information

Xavier Archives and Special Collections

Library Resource Center, Room 319

Hours of Operation:

Mon-Fri  8:00AM to 5:00PM

(504) 520-7655 or Email: Archives@xula.edu

Digital Project Archivist and Collection Specialist

Vincent Barraza's picture
Vincent Barraza
Contact:
Library Archives and Special Collections
504-520-7213
Website