A guide to library resources in religion, religious studies, and theology, plus selected links to external sources.
Last Updated: May 16, 2014
Looking for a book or journal but can't find it at Xavier? Search WorldCat to see which other libraries in the New Orleans area (and beyond) own it.
You can request items from other libraries through Xavier's interlibrary loan service. Requests can be made online or in person at the 3rd floor ILL desk.
Xavier students can also borrow books from Loyola University's Monroe Library, with certain restrictions. Ask for a LALINC card application at the Reference desk on the 1st floor.
These resources include examples of Christian and/or Catholic artistic expression. If you are accessing them from off-campus, you will be required to log in with your Xavier e-mail ID and password.
- Library Music Source
Over 300,000 pages of sheet music from over 35,000 works, including liturgical and religious works from major Western composers from the Baroque period onward.
- Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Biography, criticism, reviews, and primary texts for world writers from the 22nd century BC to the present. Not limited to fiction writers, this database includes many writers known for religious thought or devotional writing.
- Naxos Music Library
Streaming access to more than 25,830 CDs with more than 369,000 tracks. Includes many sacred choral works. Note: Please remember to log out when you are finished using this service.
These electronic resources deal chiefly with religion and/or theology. If you are accessing them from off-campus, you will be required to log in with your Xavier e-mail ID and password.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials (EBSCO)
Produced by the American Theological Library Association, this database includes over 1 million citations for articles, multi-author works, and book reviews. Full text is provided for more than 294,000 articles and book reviews.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library - Religion
Electronic versions of several Gale reference titles: Encyclopedia Judaica (2nd ed), Encyclopedia of Islam & the Muslim World, Encyclopedia of Philosophy (2nd ed), Encyclopedia of Religion, Encyclopedia of Science & Religion, Melton's Encyclopedia of American Religions (8th ed), New Catholic Encyclopedia (2nd ed plus supplements)
- Religion & Philosophy Collection
Offering several hundred full-text journals covering subjects such as biblical studies, epistemology,moral philosophy, religious history, and political philosophy.
- Project Muse
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
These electronic resources may cover topics in theology and religion from the perspective of another discipline. If you are accessing them from off-campus, you will be required to log in with your Xavier e-mail ID and password.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
A multi-disciplinary database containing full-text access to over 6800 peer-reviewed journals, indexing & abstracting of an additional 11900, plus 12000 other publications (conference papers, reports, etc.)
- eBook Collection (EBSCO, formerly NetLibrary)
A full-text, multidisciplinary electronic book collection, with approximately 2000 titles on religion and 400 on theology. Can be browsed by topic or searched by keyword, author, title, or subject.
A journal archive containing digital versions of hundreds of scholarly titles in multiple disciplines, including current and back issues for 62 titles in religion.
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
This Modern Language Association bibliography covers scholarship in languages and literature. It contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4400 journals and 1000 book publishers.
- Past Masters
Small collection of literary, philosophical, scientific, and theological works written before the 20th century. Includes the complete works of Sts. Thomas Aquinas and Augustine in English translation.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses — Full Text is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT — Full Text includes nearly 3 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1743 to the present day together with over 1 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works.
- Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection
Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to incorporate outstanding educational programs from Films Media Group into your content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic card catalog system. Here is the link URL to help you login into the database:
- Official Vatican web site
The official web site of the Holy See. Includes information on the Pope, Roman Curia, Vatican City state, and other ecclesiastical offices. Official papal communications appear on the site in multiple languages. Also features links to the Vatican Museum, Library, and news services.
- United States Conference of Catholic Bishops
The episcopal conference of the Catholic Church in the United States. Includes sections on church governance, worship, doctrine, social issues, and news.
- Archdiocese of New Orleans
Official web site of the Archdiocese of New Orleans, serving the Greater New Orleans area and the North Shore.
- Veritas Bible
Multiple editions of Catholic Bibles in Latin and English: Vulgate, Douay-Rheims, Jerusalem, and more. Can be searched by keyword or phrase in English, Latin, Greek, or Hebrew.
- Papal Encyclicals Online
An extensive online collection of papal encyclicals from Popes Honorius III (1216-1227) through Benedict XVI (2005-present). Also available are the texts of Church councils from the 4th century to the present.
- Writings of the Church Fathers
English translation of the writings of the Church Fathers, local & ecumenical church councils, apocrypha, etc. Key doctrinal concepts in each text are hyperlinked to entries in the 1917 edition of the Catholic Encyclopedia.
- The Review of Biblical Literature
The Review of Biblical Literature (RBL), which was founded by the Society of Biblical Literature, presents reviews of books in biblical studies and related fields. Appearing in this digital form and in print, RBL is comprehensive, international, and timely.
Library Resource Center
Where do you work in the library?
Throughout the building.
What is your favorite book?
It varies, however speculative fiction stories and essays concerning religion and/ or human rights resonate deeply with my soul..
They're still available here as PDFs. Last update was January 2009.