This LibGuide caters to the Xavier University Counseling Program
Last Updated: May 20, 2014
To find an article in a journal, magazine, or newspaper, select a relevant database from this research guide (see the list of recommended databases) or choose the database tab on the library website
to find a particular database. You may also search a particular journal title in A to Z Resources
by typing a journal title in the search term box.
Interlibrary Loan is a service provided for users to obtain library materials (books, articles, and other materials) from participating institutions.
If Xavier Library does not have a resource that you need, the ILL department may be able to borrow it from another institution on your behalf.
To request materials via ILL, you need to create and ILLiad
account. Once you have created the account, your ILL requests will be electronically forwarded to our ILL department. You will receive an email once your library book or articles arrives at Xavier. Use your X-Card to retrieve the item you ordered at the Circulation Desk on the first floor.
- Chronicle of Higher Education
Full-text news articles and information for the academe. Includes job announcements, discussion forums and advice columns.
- Dissertation Abstracts
Abstracts of dissertations and several sample pages. To obtain a full-text copy of a dissertation, please contact our Interlibrary Loan Department or a librarian.
A bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information. The database contains both unpublished ERIC documents (ED's) as well as scholarly journal articles. Provided by EBSCO
- Learning Express Library
Practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life. Looking to land a job? You'll find an entire Learning Center dedicated to helping you get the one that's right for you.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook
This database provides users with a comprehensive guide to test reviews of over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments. Produced by the BUROS Center for Testing, through EBSCO
- Professional Development Collection
This collection, designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals.
This database is the APA's (American Psychological Association's) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science, including psychology, counseling, educational psychology, and mental health. Provided by EBSCO.
- Teacher Reference Center
The Teacher Reference Center provides many subjects for teachers needs, including: assessment, best practices, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, elementary education, higher education, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, school administration, science & mathematics, and teacher education.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research.
- FILMS ON DEMAND: MASTER ACADEMIC EDITION
Films On Demand combines our newest videos with many of our best-selling programs to provide you with an up-to-date, cross-curricular digital library that spans high school, advanced placement and college needs. Select one video or 1,000 programs - the choice is yours!
Library Resource Center
Where do you work in the library?
Reference and Instruction
What is your favorite book?
Use XACWeb, Xavier's library catalog to find books, journals, and media for research in education and counseling. Call the library at 504-520-7305 for help using the catalog. Books on education and counseling are found on the 3rd floor of the main stacks. Books in the Xavier Library are arranged by the Dewey Decimal Classification System. Education books are classified in the Dewey Decimal ranges 370-378. Journals in print can be found on the 2nd floor.