This is the "Home" page of the "Political Science Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Political Science Research Guide  

This guide is reflective of the resources available through the Xavier University Library Resource Center. It is tailored for Political Science classes and will be updated regularly.
Last Updated: Aug 25, 2014 URL: http://xula.libguides.com/content.php?pid=525302 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Finding a Journal

To find an article in a journal, magazine, or newspaper, select a relevant database from this research guide (see the list of recommended databases) or choose the database tab on the library website to find a particular database.  You may also search a particular journal title in A to Z Resources by typing a journal title in the search term box.
 

Citation Styles and Tools

Tips for using the American Political Science Association/ ASPA style of citation.

A pdf for using ASPA from Texas A&M University
A Cite Source page from Trintiy University of Hartford, CT
 
The Style Manual for Political Science

Databases

  • America's News (Newsbank)
    Find diverse perspectives on topics related to business, communications, health, education, history, philosophy, politics and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content including the Times-Picayune, The Advocate and USA Today.
  • Annual Reviews
    Full-text of critical reviews written by leading scientists within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, Social Science and Economic disciplines.
  • Congressional Digest
    An independent publication featuring controversies in Congress, Pro & Con. It is not an official organ, nor is it controlled by any party, interest, class, or sect. Published monthly except for July and August.
  • CQ Global Researcher
    Full-text single-topic reports on world issues from multiple international viewpoints.
  • CQ Researcher
    Full-text single topic reports on issues in the fields of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.
  • GPO Access
    GPO Access is a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government. The information provided on this site is the official, published version and the information retrieved from GPO Access can be used without restriction, unless specifically noted.
  • Legal Collection
    Contains full text for hundreds of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. An authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
  • Military & Government Collection
    Full-text articles of current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
  • NewsBank: America's Newspapers
    Find diverse perspectives on topics related to business, communications, health, education, history, philosophy, politics and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content including the Times-Picayune, The Advocate and USA Today.
  • Newspaper Source
    Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers.

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Herbert McGuin
Contact Info
Suite 224C
Library Resource Center
504-520-7661
Send Email
Where do you work in the library?
Throughout the building.
What is your favorite book?
It varies, however speculative fiction stories and essays concerning religion and/ or human rights resonate deeply with my soul..
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip