This research guide provides an introduction to the resources available to Xavierites. It is my goal to help you find and access the resources that are appropriate for your needs. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to reach out to the library. We are here to help!
Blog posts are written by students and faculty and cover a wide range of sociological topics.
SocINDEX with Full Text is a comprehensive sociology research database, featuring more than 2.1 million records. It contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
If you'd like to be involved in professional organizations, there are grants and awards for conference travel and minority students to pursue a career in sociology!
Sociology tells us what's wrong with society, but what does sociology say we should do about it? Michael Schwalbe answers this question by drawing on sociology's methods, findings, and distinct ways of looking at social life. Schwalbe shows readers how social change can be accomplished by taking a sociologically mindful approach to a range of ordinary actions, such as listening, researching, writing, organizing, empathizing, advocating, conserving, teaching, dissenting, and imagining.
What does it actually mean to think critically? Sociologist Joel Best examines how to evaluate arguments and the evidence used to support them as he hones in on how to think in the field of sociology and beyond. Best examines the ways in which sociologists engage in fuzzy thinking through bias, faddish cultural waves, spurious reasoning, and implicit bias.
This Open Access book touches on important topics such as plagiarism, the fabrication or falsification of data, and confidentiality.