- America's News
Find diverse perspectives on topics related to business, communications, health, education, history, philosophy, politics and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content including the Times-Picayune, The Advocate and USA Today.
- CAT Food (for thought)
Provides guidance and practical information on using Blackboard, and collects pointers to material around the web on the subject of service learning. Includes podcasts consisting of conversations with a teacher in higher education. The interviews are conducted by Dr. Elizabeth Yost Hammer, CAT Director. The production is managed by CAT Media Artist, Bart Everson.
- Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning (CETL)
An alphabetical list of journals that publish the scholarship of teaching and learning (SoTL Journals).
- Chronicle of Higher Education
Full-text news articles and information for the academe. Includes job announcements, discussion forums and advice columns.
- Dissertations and Theses
Full-text dissertations and theses is the world’s most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day.
Bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information.
- ICPSR - Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
Maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
- Information Science & Technology Abstracts (ISTA)
With coverage dating as far back as the mid 1960s, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science. ISTA indexes journal articles, books, research reports, and conference proceedings, with ongoing coverage of the most important periodicals in this field.
- Learning Express Library
Offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) with Full Text
LISTA indexes journal articles from more than 600 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, and electronic publishing. Coverage is 1966-present.
- Literati by Credo
This online platform allows you to search Literati by Credo along with other resources provided by Xavier University Library. Explores liberal, religious, and vocational education. Create an account in Literati by Credo to record all of your research experiences.
- MAS Ultra - School Edition
Designed for high school students this database provides basic full-text articles from popular high school magazines including America's Civil War, American Heritage, American History, Archaeology, Astronomy, Bioscience, Careers & Colleges, Civil War Times, Congressional Digest, Discover, History Today, Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Scientist, Popular Science, Science News, Scientific American, Smithsonian, World War II, etc.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook
This database provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments.
- Primary Search
This database contains full-text articles for popular elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
- Professional Development Collection
This collection, designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals.
- Project Muse
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
This database is the APA's (American Psychological Association's) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science, including psychology, counseling, educational psychology, and mental health. Provided by EBSCO.
- Something About the Author Online
Each volume in this series provides illustrated biographical profiles of approximately 75 children's authors and artists.
- Teacher Reference Center
The Teacher Reference Center provides many subjects for teachers needs, including: assessment, best practices, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, elementary education, higher education, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, school administration, science & mathematics, and teacher education.