This is the "Home" page of the "English Composition and Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English Composition and Literature  

A guide to resources for composition and literature in English.
Last Updated: Sep 26, 2014 URL: http://xula.libguides.com/comp_lit Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Finding Print and Electronic Books

You can search the catalog for books, e-books, audiovisual recordings, and more from the library's main page, or you can use the links below for more specialized searches.

Free Electronic Texts

These web sites offer public domain literary works and other texts at no cost to the user. Most can be loaded onto a tablet, e-reader, or smart phone.

Poetry Portals

These sites offer extensive collections of English-language poetry, poets' biograpies, audio files, and commentary.

Scholarly Databases

These databases mainly contain secondary sources in the form of literary criticism along with some other content. For a description of each database, click on the blue information icon.

For additional recommended resources on specific literary periods, countries, or groups, see the other tabs in this guide.

Electronic Reference Sources

Reference sources are useful for facts, definitions, biographies, bibliographies, plot summaries, analysis of works, and other preliminary research. For a description of each database, click on the blue information icon.

For additional recommended resources on specific literary periods, countries, or groups, see the other tabs in this guide.

Print Reference Sources

Please note that as of Fall 2014, our reference collection is in transition between the 2nd and 4th floors of the library. The collection is also being reclassified in the Library of Congress numbering system; during this transition, you may find some reference books on the 2nd floor using the Dewey Decimal system and others on the 4th floor using LC.

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Elizabeth Elmwood
Contact Info
(504) 520-5296
Send Email
Where do you work in the library?
Room 107D
What is your favorite book?
The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip