Skip to main content

Xavier University Stamp, Coin, and Medal Collection: Digital Collection

Collection Standards

Overview

The Xavier University Library Collections Digitization Initiative focuses on building digital collections of enduring value drawn from materials in the Archives and Special Collections. Collections in process of digitization are chosen based on historical and cultural value, as well as conditional necessity. 

Conservation

Materials to be digitized receive conservation review prior to digitization. All manuscripts are stabilized for digitization, rehoused by Xavier University Archival Standards, and all items are ssured long-term preservation within Xavier University Archives and Special Collections.

Access and Location

Digital collections are available online through Xavier University Library Resource Center Digital Collections. Physical items are located in the Xavier Library Archives and Special Collections, Library Resource Center - Room 319

Cast Lead Papal Bulla of Pope Eugene IV

Stamps from Gold Coast

Stamps from the United States

Stamps & Envelope from Brazil

Stamps from Italy

Stamps from the United States - Special Delivery

Collection Guide

Using this Digial Collection Guide:

Find the Box and/or Folder you wish to explore and click on the available link.

(Due to collection being currently in process, some of the folders might not be yet available)


Collection Guide

Box I 
Series 1 - Modern Postage Stamp Album - ca. 1930s-1950s
     Subseries A: Stamps by Country/Area
        Part 3 - Abyssinia
        Part 5 - Albania
        Part 6 - Algeria
        Part 8 - Angola
        Part 11 - Armenia
        Part 13 - Austria
        Part 14 - Azores
        Part 17 - Barbados
        Part 22 - Belgium
        Part 24 - Bolivia
        Part 26 - Brazil
        Part 32 - Canada
        Part 37 - Ceylon
        Part 38 - Chile
        Part 39 - China
        Part 42 - (K)Corea
        Part 44 - Crete
        Part 45 - Cuba
        Part 46 - Curacao
        Part 47 - Cyprus
        Part 52 - Danzig
        Part 53 - Denmark
                           Eastern Roumelia, & Eastern Silesia
        Part 56 - Ecuador
        Part 57 - Egypt
                           Annobaon and Corisco, & Fernando Po
        Part 60 - Finland
        Part 62 - France
                           French Guiana, French Guinea, & French Oceanica
                           & North German Postal District
        Part 67 - Germany
        Part 74 - Haiti
        Part 77 - Honduras
        Part 78 - Hong Kong
        Part 79 - Hungary
        Part 81 - India
        Part 85 - Italy
        Part 87 - Jamaica
        Part 88 - Japan
        Part 92 - Liberia
        Part 94 - Lithuania
                          Mauritania, & Mecklenburg Schwerin
        Part 101 - Mexico
        Part 104 - Monaco
        Part 115 - Norway
                           Nova Scotia, & Penrhyn Island
        Part 121 - Persia
        Part 122 - Peru
        Part 124 - Poland
        Part 130 - Roumania
        Part 131 - Russia
                           St. Marie de Madagascar, St. Vincent
        Part 142 - Sweden
                           Tasmania, Tiimor, & Tobago
        Part 151 - Ukrainia
        Part 153 - Uruguay
        
       
Series 2 - Stamps of Vatican City
     Subseries B: White Ace Historical Album for the Postal Issues of Vatican City (No Stamps)
     Subseries C: Vatican City Stamps Grouped by Year (Loose Leaf Stamps)
                                        of the Church Meeting in Trient 

Stamp from the USA - Lindbergh Air Mail

Pope Piux XII "Pontifex Maximvs" Gilt Medal

Stamps from Australia

Stamps from Italy

Stamps from Japan

Stamps from the Congo

Stamps from Czechoslovakia

Stamps from the United States