Skip to main content

Charles F. Heartman Manuscripts of Slavery Collection Guide: Digital Collection

Charles F. Heartman Collection Guide

Collection Description

The Charles F. Heartman Manuscripts of Slavery Collection consists of over 6000 pieces dating from 1724 to 1897, and relate directly to the social, economic, civil, and legal status of enslaved Negroes and Free People of Color in Louisiana an especially in New Orleans.

The manuscripts are written in French, Spanish, and English. 

Archives Contact Information

Xavier Archives and Special Collections

Library Resource Center, Room 319

Hours of Operation:

Mon-Fri  8:00AM to 5:00PM

(504) 520-7655 or Email: Archives@xula.edu

Collection Standards

Overview

The Xavier University Library Collections Digitization Initiative focuses on building digital collections of enduring value drawn from materials in the Archives and Special Collections. Collections in process of digitization are chosen based on historical and cultural value, as well as conditional necessity. 

Conservation

Materials to be digitized receive conservation review prior to digitization. All manuscripts are stabilized for digitization, rehoused by Xavier University Archival Standards, and all items are ssured long-term preservation within Xavier University Archives and Special Collections.

Access and Location

Digital collections are available online through Xavier University Library Resource Center Digital Collections. Physical items are located in the Xavier Library Archives and Special Collections, Library Resource Center - Room 319

Bill of Sale for a Female Slave - 1826

Receipt for Caretakers of Slaves - u.d.

Emancipation for a "Negress" - 1809

Account Table for 53 Slaves - 1804

Bill of Sale for Slaves - 1821

Collection Guide

Using this Collection Guide:

Find the Box and/or Folder you wish to explore and click on the available link.

To View the Finding Aid for a Better Breakdown of the Collection, Click HERE!

(Due to collection being currently in process, some of the folders might not be yet available)


Collection Guide:
 
Box I - Documents from Various States, 1751-1875
 
Box II Documents from Louisiana, 1765-1829
 
Box III Documents from Louisiana, 1830-1837
 
Box IV Documents from Louisiana, 1838-1849
          Part 1 - 1840
          Part 2 - 1841
          Part 3 - 1842
          Part 4 - 1843
          Part 5 - 1844
          Part 1 - 1842 & 1845
          Part 2 - 1846
          Part 3 - 1847
          Part 4 - 1848
          Part 5 - 1849
 
Box V - Documents from Louisiana, 1850-1859
          Part 1 - 1850
          Part 2 - 1851
          Part 3 - 1852
          Part 1 - 1853
          Part 2 - 1854
          Part 3 - 1855
          Part 4 - 1856
          Part 1 - 1857
          Part 2 - 1858
          Part 3 - 1859
 
Box VI - Documents from Louisiana, 1834-1871
          Undated
          Part 1 - 1834
          Part 2 - 1835
          Part 3 - 1836
          Part 4 - 1837
          Part 1 - 1838
          Part 2 - 1839
          Part 3 - 1840
          Part 4 - 1841
          Part 5 - 1842
          Part 6 - 1845
          Part 7 - 1847
          Part 8 - 1848
          Part 9 - 1849
          Part 10 - 1850
          Part 11 - 1852
          Part 12 - 1853
          Part 13 - 1854
          Part 14 - 1855
          Part 15 - 1857
          Part 16 - 1858
          Part 17 - 1859
          Part 18 - 1860
          Part 19 - 1861
          Part 20 - 1868-1871
 
Box VII - Documents from New Orleans, 1811-1846
     Vouchers (Cash Receipts) by Year For Work Done by "Negro" Slaves in Chain Gangs
     Folder 1 - 1811-1816      
          Part 1 - 1811
          Part 2 - 1813
          Part 3 - 1814
          Part 4 - 1815
          Part 5 - 1816
          Part 1 - 1819
          Part 1 - 1821
          Part 2 - 1822
          Part 1 - 1823
          Part 2 - 1824
          Part 1 - 1825
          Part 1 - 1828
          Part 2 - 1829
          Part 3 - 1831
          Part 1 - 1841
          Part 2 - 1842
          Part 3 - 1843
          Part 4 - 1844
          Part 5 - 1845
          Part 6 - 1846
 
Box VIII - Documents from Louisiana Relating to the Economic, Civil, and Legal Status
                   of "Free Persons of Color," and of Slaves, 1777-1825
          Part 1 - 1777-1794
          Part 3 - 1805-1809
          Part 1 - 1810
          Part 2 - 1811
          Part 1 - 1812
          Part 2 - 1813
          Part 3 - 1814
          Part 1 - 1815
          Part 2 - 1816
          Part 3 - 1817
          Part 4 - 1818
          Part 5 - 1819
          Part 6 - 1820
 
Box IX - Documents from Louisiana Relating to the Economic, Civil, and Legal Status
                   of "Free Persons of Color," and of Slaves, 1821-1876
          Part 1 - 1821
          Part 2 - 1822
          Part 3 - 1824
          Part 4 - 1825
          Part 5 - 1826-1829
          Part 1 - 1830-1831
          Part 2 - 1833-1844
          Part 3 - 1845-1862
          Part 1 - 1820
          Part 2 - 1825-1826
          Part 3 - 1826-1828
          Part 4 - 1828
          Part 5 - 1832-1833
          Part 6 - 1834-1841
          Part 7 - 1834-1838
          Part 8 - 1843
          Part 9 - 1856-1863

Collection Guide Continued

Box X - Police Reports from New Orleans, 1821
 
Box XI - Police Reports from New Orleans, 1822
 
Box XII - Police Reports from New Orleans, 1824
 
Box XIII - Reports from the City Workshop, New Orleans, 1828-1830
          Part 1 - May 1828
          Part 2 - September 1828
          Part 3 - October 1828
          Part 4 - November 1828
          Part 5 - December 1828
          Part 6 - April 1829
          Part 7 - May 1829
          Part 8 - July 1829
          Part 9 - August 1829
          Part 10 - November 1829
          Part 11 - December 1829
          Part 12 - January 1830
          Part 13 - February 1830
          Part 14 - March 1830
          Part 15 - April 1830
 
Box XIV - Reports from the City Workshop, New Orleans, 1830-1831
          Part 1 - May 1830
          Part 2 - June 1830
          Part 3 - July 1830
          Part 4 - August 1830
          Part 5 - September 1830
          Part 6 - October 1830
          Part 7 - November 1830
          Part 8 - December 1830
          Part 9 - January 1831
          Part 10 - February 1831
          Part 11 - April 1831
          Part 12 - May 1831
          Part 13 - June 1831
          Part 14 - July 1831
          Part 15 - August 1831
          Part 16 - September 1831
          Part 17 - October 1831
          Part 18 - December 1831
        
Box XV - Police Reports from New Orleans, 1814
 
Box XVI - Guard Service Reports from New Orleans, 1824
 
Box XVII - Police Reports, 1837
 
Box XVIII - Various Reports from Spain, 1794-1796 and New Orleans, 1810-1839
 
Box XIX - Various Reports from New Orleans, 1820-1846
 
Box XX - Records of the City of New Orleans and the United States Armed Services, 1841-1897
 
Box XXI - Police Record Book, New Orleans, 1840-1851
 
 
Box XXIII - Charles F. Heartman Publications

Index to Proper Names

Collection Provenance

Complete Statistics

Collection Statistics:

Total Discoverable Items on ContentDM = 6,074 Items


Total Scanned Pages = 12,289 Pages


Total Digital Backup Space Used = 1.32 TB

Statistics By Box:

Box 1 = 643 Pages

Box 2 = 442 Pages

Box 3 = 633 Pages

Box 4 = 711 Pages

Box 5 = 674 Pages

Box 6 = 467 Pages

Box 7 = 1,280 Pages

Box 8 = 620 Pages

Box 9 = 955 Pages

Box 10 = 600 Pages

Box 11 = 742 Pages

Box 12 = 602 Pages

Box 13 = 402 Pages

Box 14 = 426 Pages

Box 15 = 328 Pages

Box 16 = 420 Pages

Box 17 = 499 Pages

Box 18 = 541 Pages

Box 19 = 535 Pages

Box 20 = 608 Pages

Box 21 = 129 Pages

Box 22 = N/A

Box 23 = 32 Pages

Box 24 = N/A

Slaves as Property - 1820

Proof of Freedom - 1821

Bill of Sale for Plantation - 1849

Slaves Belonging to Thomas Cooke - 1833