Skip to main content

Counseling: Library Resources

This LibGuide caters to the Xavier University Counseling Program

Finding a Journal

To find an article in a journal, magazine, or newspaper, select a relevant database from this research guide (see the list of recommended databases) or choose the database tab on the library website to find a particular database.  You may also search a particular journal title in A to Z Resources by typing a journal title in the search term box.

Using Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Interlibrary Loan is a service provided for users to obtain library materials (books, articles, and other materials) from participating institutions. 
If Xavier Library does not have a resource that you need, the ILL department may be able to borrow it from another institution on your behalf.
To request materials via ILL, you need to create and ILLiad account.  Once you have created the account, your ILL requests will be electronically forwarded to our ILL department.  You will receive an email once your library book or articles arrives at Xavier.  Use your X-Card to retrieve the item you ordered at the Circulation Desk on the first floor.

Recommended Databases

Reference Librarian

Herbert McGuin
Contact:
Suite 224C

Library Resource Center
504.520.7661

Finding Books in Print

Quick Notes:

To find books, journals, and other media for research in education and counseling use the library's catalog and databases

If you need assistance please call the library at 504-520-7305 or chat with a librarian @ xula.libanswers.com

Print books covering different aspects of counseling can found on the 3rd floor of the library.

Recently published journals in print can be found on the 4th floor.

Finally, to better serve students beyond the building, there is a growing collection of e-books, journals, and streaming media available through the catalog and databases.