Skip to main content

Xavier University of Louisiana Library

Our University Library...

As the center of intellectual life, Xavier University Library provides access to materials that are the building blocks of knowledge and services that support the educational and research needs of the University.

The Library provides access to a constantly expanding collection of more than 500,000 electronic resources, including e-books, e-journals, videos and more, accessible 24 hours a day, 365 days a year through the Library website. The collection also includes more than 100,000 physical materials. The Library offers opportunities for various types of knowledge creation, thanks to our Innovation Studio (MakerSpace), equipped with a laser cutter, 3D printers, CNC milling equipment and other tools for creating physical items, and our Data Visualization Lab, with tools to help turn data into understandable, digestible visual representations. The Library’s growing Institutional Repository, XULA Digital Commons, offers a platform for Xaverites to preserve and provide access to their creative and scholarly works, all while keeping their intellectual property protected.

The Library is home to the Xavier University Archives and Special Collections which maintains and preserves a unique collection of manuscripts, university records, photographs, ephemera, and rare books with a focus on African-American, Louisiana, Gulf Coast-region and U.S. Roman Catholic history and culture, and the creative writing of the modern Deep South. The rapidly expanding Digital Archives contains 18,000 items across 24 collections that support the teaching and research needs of the University.

The Library offers a wide range of information services, including chat and email assistance, as well as in-person research consultation in both one-on-one and classroom settings. The Library is committed to offering students and faculty forward-thinking and sustainable information- and resource-management tools.